Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Subsea War

by sntran - Jam Entry

Use WASD to move around, space to shoot torpedoes.

Aim with mouse and click to shoot a sonar ping that will illuminate the wall/ship it touches.

Use the square brackets to increase/decrease the noise level of the ship (i.e., how big the light bubble around the player's ship).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2054Coolness17%

Comments

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Quite quiet for a war, isn't it? :D I found the 'enemy' (is he) but he wasn't moving :m

Jhelle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Couldn't find any enemies but loved the sonar effect. What does the change noise level do btw?

eugman says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:00am

I absolutely loved the idea, 5 for innovation! It's a shame I couldn't find any enemies.

May 3, 2014 @ 1:44am

I won the ocean! I guess...

sntran says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:00am

Sorry all. I could not complete the game as I loved to. Too much things going on. There is just a dummy enemy at the bottom right corner, which is just another submarine.

Ideally, the noise level increases your level of visibility so you can see more of the surroundings, but it also makes your enemy see you easier. It's like how much noise a ship makes.

With an AI in place, the game would have been fun to play, but I could not make i t in time.

ChuiGum says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:15am

Loved the sonar effect, very cool

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:27am

Interesting idea. I liked how the ping effect lit up what it hit. Definitely wish the enemies were a little more responsive though. Nice work!

CluelessGames says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:28am

Cool idea.

Loneshark says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:31am

It wouldn't start in Firefox, but it played fine in Chrome.

It's an interesting concept to tinker with, for sure!

xandy says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:24pm

good idea but way too hard to find enemies imo

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]