Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Crugrock

by sprawl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Second Ludum Dare, I can already see a lot of improvement compared to the last one.

What I would have liked to finish in time :
- Art assets (Character/explosions/lava/blocks)
- Physics don't work as I'd like them to.
- Customize the random generator a little more to add more uniques rooms.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#471Innovation3.18
#602Audio2.67
#799Humor2.11
#823Theme2.94
#912Fun2.61
#980Overall2.73
#997Mood2.45
#1018Graphics2.45

Comments

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Very original and innovative.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Nice graphics, pretty unique gameplay. Great job!

bzizizi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Like the glitchy gameplay.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58pm

the game was soo big, I could play it.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Awesome idea ! I really enjoyed your game ! Congrats !

loxo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Interesting concept, but I am unsure what to do after destroying the reactor. And I miss an indication when I can use the dash function on the right mouse button, it seems there is a 8 second reload phase.

sprawl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:13pm

@loxo Yes, there is. Also, lava starts going up faster and faster the more reactors you break.

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Man, those are som satisfying gameplay mechanics. "Bwoooop", I can feel them say. :) It's one of those games where you don't need to invest in in order to play them, but as soon as you start, you can't help but be absorbed into them.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Cool concept. I like the physics effects when you blow up the blocks. Interesting game!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Those explosions are great.

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Suicide mission? I'm in. Nice submission!

gre says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Nice effort on making all those different game mecanisms. Those are quite innovative too.
The concept is interesting.

jsmars says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:00am

Good concept but could use some music and polish

Teesquared says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:49am

Nice physics. Good idea but needs to be more complete.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]