Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Square Rooted

by adamwfindlay - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So here is my game. 'Square Rooted'

It's a grid based puzzler interpreting the theme 'Beneath The Surface' as a garden, in which plants grow beneath the surface.

You play an elderly gardener trying to plant up flower beds in his garden.

Arrow keys to move, see how many moves you can complete the 5 levels in!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#36Graphics4.34
#90Audio3.67
#160Mood3.58
#199Overall3.59
#269Fun3.39
#536Humor2.46
#648Innovation2.93
#1002Theme2.60

Comments

Pent says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:17am

Square Rooted!! Interesting puzzle game!

Redream says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Really enjoyed it, shame that there's only 5 levels.

Cosrnos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:07am

I really liked it! It's a simple concept that can provide hours of entertainment. I also felt really relaxed playing this c:

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:36pm

I liked your take on the theme, puzzle games are always a neat way to go. I liked the art and the background music. Kind of wish there was a High(low?) Score saving.

legendpaul says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Great little game

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:38pm

So it's basically a Sokoban variant, but that's okay. The graphics are excellent, and the whole thing seems to have a great mood. I wasn't too convinced by the theme usage, though. In all it was good work. ;)

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Great art!

HernanZh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Nice little game! Lovely art and music!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Love the style so much :) And nice and simple to learn too, I would play more levels!

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:43pm

It was short, which is a shame because it's beautiful looking. I feel like the mechanic could be expanded if you made some sort of restrictions with rolling over already-planted flowers with the cart.

adamwfindlay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Thanks for the comments so far guys! :)

@VDOgamez yeah I definitely wanna expand on the mechanics and that is a good suggestion of something to try out!

garygreen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Great game. So mellow and great graphics. One of my faves so far. I normally don't go for puzzlers, but really enjoyed this. :-)

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Great game! Wonderfully put together. Nice to see such a complete package. You did one thing and did it very well.

bzizizi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Nice art

stoo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:06pm

This is really nice and I love the graphics. It's refreshing to see a game which isn't about killing things. My only complaint is it's so short!

Shivur says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Very beautiful game.

Move127 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Very fun and peaceful game.

metkis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Surprised there weren't many levels, but enjoyed it nonetheless!

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:07pm

liked it! Looks great and feels good

Joshua_Burr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:07pm

very nice art.

adamwfindlay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Thanks :)

@metkis and @stoo I wish I hadn't of ran out of time for making levels! Would liked to of made more than 5 haha.

Kuchalu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:10pm

I really enjoyed this. Would be excellent on iPad.

hanoth says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Very relaxing and fun.

DeathBread says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Fun to play, I would have enjoyed playing more than five levels :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:00pm

This looks great!
It's really short though... But nevertheless, I enjoyed it :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Nice art and sounds. Maybe you should have told for each level how many moves needed at least to add challenge.

KuGrou says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:38am

Really liked the art and music.

praporomsk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:16pm

nice art

VictoryGarden says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:21am

A really nice, relaxing entry! The art is crisp, the contemplative music furthers the mood, and I felt motivated to finish the garden. Some more guidance on the goal right off the bat as to the goal would have been helpful, as well a (togglable?) indicator as to the fewest number of moves in which a puzzle could be solved--just getting through was a bit easy after a while, after realizing where the cart could and couldn't be retrieved from. More levels with increased mechanical depth would be great :D

I don't know if you've seen this other entry, but they have somewhat similar mechanics--might be interesting to take a look: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=26919

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:51pm

A pretty decent puzzle game with nice graphics, the audio fit pretty well too.

Wertle says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:44am

This was super cute and cohesive design. The sound was great! I like how it's casual in the sense that the move counter counts up and you aren't trying to beat a limit unless you choose to. My one suggestion would be to celebrate the "win" of a level a bit longer (maybe a momentary pause while the wind chimes play - also old man dancing) but that is a minor bit. Nice work!

mrexcessive says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Hi. Finished all 5. Be nice to have another 15-30 ! Additional plant types or other things to do would be cool. Love the art style!

ActionRemix says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:57am

Presentation is perfect. Nice pun ;)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]