Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Roots

by suppi - Jam Entry

first LD yey! :)

tools:
HaxeFlixel
Pixlr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#232Theme(Jam)3.44
#273Innovation(Jam)3.24
#637Humor(Jam)1.71
#659Overall(Jam)2.60
#659Fun(Jam)2.32
#672Mood(Jam)2.36
#719Graphics(Jam)2.20
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45pm

I just see a black window on both Safari and Firefox in MacOS :m Fix it, please, my first idea was quite similar and I would love to try this one :D

suppi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Luis Anton,
Sorry it didn't work until now and thanks for your reply :) flash version should work now. if it still doesn't run try running it through private mode in firefox, might be a cache problem.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:26am

Would have loved to have some audio with this! Very neat idea. Didn't know what I was doing in the first round but I got the hang of it quickly. Really like the tree graphics.

lonewookie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:52am

Very cool concept and mechanics, but the controls are a little difficult. Great job!

wilpel1234 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:15pm

I like the idea, but the game gets boring pretty fast.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Beautiful menu! Considering the game: it would have been nice to see your tree grow while you're busy digging (maybe a different camera or something?). The mechanics were nice though :) Congrats on completing your first LD!

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:26pm

The fact that I often have no idea if I'll dig two pieces or one is annoying - you should have probably changed the controls to move character one tile every time I move, that would be a bit better.

sam101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41pm

I like the idea, there is some good concept, but the game is a little bit too slow for me ? (gameplay wise I mean !).

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Controls are not as concise as I would have liked them to be, but a very innovative entry.
Sound would have been nice.

suppi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Thanks everyone for your responses! I really appreciate it. I tried to add a few of the features you requested and I might add some sounds tomorrow :)

stvr says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Really difficult, I could only get a few drops before I didn't have enough water to make roots.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]