Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Orlok's Ordeal

by Daveloper - Jam Entry

Nosferatu awakes one night in his lonely castle, to discover that a prized possession
is missing. Fruitlessly scouring his chamber, he realizes he must search the castle for his missing
treasure.

The game is an exploration/puzzle game, in which you must solve puzzles in order to obtain keys
which can be used to further explore the castle.

The game seeks to challenge our perception of a character, even one that is well established.
Do their motivations or desires differ from what we expect from them? and should inoccuous
elements of their identity change our opinion of them?

Controls:

W,A,S,D = Movement

Space = Interact with object (Inspect or use an inventory item if applicable)

To use an item in the inventory, press the number which sits beside the item
in the list you'd like to use.

I = Open inventory


Created by:

Tuuka (@mysterioustuuka): Design & graphics

Dave Van Bale (@daveloper): Code & design

Joonas Turner (@kissakolme): Sound design (Sound effects and voice acting)

Martin Kvale (@martinkvale): Sound design (Ambience and music)

Marek Jarocki (@mjarocki_art): Story & promotional artwork




Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#4Audio(Jam)4.44
#23Overall(Jam)4.07
#32Humor(Jam)3.91
#66Graphics(Jam)4.31
#66Mood(Jam)3.89
#90Fun(Jam)3.56
#375Innovation(Jam)3.00
#503Theme(Jam)2.89

Comments

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:26pm

It’s very pretty, quite funny (e.g. the toilet text) and the cutscenes are great. I think my laptop bugged out during the ending though. :(

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Wow, the opening scene was really well done and the game itself is really polished, I absolutely love the art style!

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:28pm

I want this chest of nic nacs! Awesome game - and the narrator needs an oscar

Satyre says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Great work. The intro was surprising with the voice acting and graphics. I wish it would have been skipable, cause I had to reload the game. But overall great graphics, sound and gameplay :)

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Really nicely done. I love the animation and the mood. Please tell me who narrated it. :)

Daveloper says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:43pm

The narrator was Joonas Turner(@kissakolme):)

Thanks for the kind words, everyone!

Fox_in_sox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Nice little adventure game. My only complaint is, that the pixel art graphics get deformed when moving and it's a shame those pretty visuals get shattered. I know Unity tends to disrupt pixel art graphics if not treated properly. But as I sad, otherwise a very nice game.:)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Awesome. Love the graphics and the dark yet humourous mood. The intro was great!

Benn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Great jam entry! I enjoyed the painting quips ^__^

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Great pixel work and funny game (both to play and story-wise).

Nice usage of the theme!

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Great voice acting! Loved the comments of the paintings :) Pretty graphics too!

Larzan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Beautiful! Well done, love the incredible intro!

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Really well polished game, nice work!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:56pm

nice story, got to the end :D. Narration was excellent.

Snowflower says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:25pm

love the intro and voice stuff in this game!

when you try to use multiple items that have no effect, more feedback in the text onscreen would help.

I wasnt sure if i could just mash on all the keys for all the items I had or not.

Maybe try adjusting the text like this:
'you try to use the (item), but it does nothing'
instead of just displaying the text 'that wont work'

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:44am

The intro is just awesome! There is a lot of cure for sound and I like it. Gameplay is a little clunky.

EpiphanyG says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:00am

Brilliant game! I nearly gave up at the point where I'd got the monocle until I started paying attention the voices and realised where the talking was coming from.

Very creative entry, all members of your team as important as the others.

Beautiful visuals, excellent sound, wonderful voice over and the game feels very fluid. Lots of fun. Great job everyone! :)

Perfect ending too, really made me laugh.

May 1, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Good game. I like the art style and feel of the game. Good job.

May 2, 2014 @ 4:54pm

I absolutely loved the intro art. And the game itself is really well done, Great work you guys!

Wertle says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:00pm

OMG those drawings, so good, so cute. Sound design is stellar and the animations were so very cute. Have I mentioned cute? Also cute. Nice work!

TobiasW says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:28am

Wonderful, absolutely wonderful! The music, the sound design, the intro, the writing, the ingame art, everything is perfect! The gameplay itself is a little bit bland, but the puzzly aspect is still interesting and the audio hotspots make the world come alive. (I love the paintings.)

Great job, all of you!

VictoryGarden says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:38am

that voice acting OwO

The stills, the cutscenes, and all of the graphics... wow, this is a great little game. Short and sweet. The in-level sound design could have used a little work, I think--maybe some music or ambience? I kept thinking I heard someone saying something, or some sort of higher-pitched sound, but relative to the narrating volume it was too quiet to hear. Other than that, though, a real gem.

Thanks for the game!

Daveloper says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:10am

@victorygarden: thanks for the kind words!", but there is in fact ambient sound throughout the game, with ambiences changing between rooms; the first room of the game is the only exception to this and is intentionally silent.

May 6, 2014 @ 9:25am

Really liked the art work and narration of the opening scene, the style of the game is also nice. Over all a great game.

madmaw says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:57am

Really polished

BadPaul34 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:59pm

I would love to play more, but I can't use items with my laptop :(
So I don't rate it.
But the intro is incredible!!!!!

danialhyatt says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Good one! Really enjoyed it. Wish the ending had been a bit more interesting. But the way the mood is set is amazing, I love the objects you chose and the layout of his house is quite nightmarish. Overall flawlessly executed, especially considering it was just a weekend. Good job!

Boodog says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Nice job! Pretty fun!

elliottd says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Excellent entry. Congratulations! I had some trust issues with the interaction (i went around spamming space on the same objects multiple times), game could have done a better job reinforcing the use mechanism I think. great audio and narrative, nice colours. well done.

May 7, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Awesome job ! Great game overall ! The intro is excellent, the voice acting is amazing :D

kristof says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Wow, wasn't expecting such a polished puzzle game. The drawings in the intro and closing scene are very good! The music and voice acting is very fitting. The only minor complaint might be, that the "hotspots" should have been highlighted when you are near them. The way it is right now, you have to spam space around every object to find out if it is important. But as I said, that is a minor complaint. Good work!

Daveloper says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:00pm

@Kristof Thanks for the kind words! Making interactive items clearer is the highest priority in fixes for an updated version of the game. Thanks for the constructive feedback :)

ActionRemix says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Wait, what was his treasure? I missed it!

Daveloper says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:09pm

@actionremix if you look closely on the final image of the outro, you'll see it.

*spoiler*

View here:
http://mysterioustuuka.tumblr.com/image/85031645908

May 10, 2014 @ 1:26am

One of my favorite games so far. I included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/mAtRG2njZHE

jacklehamster says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:19am

A nice entry. I wished the puzzles were a bit more than just finding and using keys. Aside from that, the ambiance, sound and nicely drawn cutscenes made this an enjoyable exploration.

rorycooke says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:07pm

really fun, I liked it

JavadocMD says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:19am

Really cute! Loved the use of line drawings and voice acting to convey the story. Loved the retro art style in game. The puzzles were simple, but still enjoyable. Very well done!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]