Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Surface

by msminotaur - Jam Entry

Dig up the graves to find your lost lover - but look out for those who would hinder your search.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#123Theme(Jam)3.67
#128Mood(Jam)3.64
#144Audio(Jam)3.59
#326Graphics(Jam)3.50
#376Overall(Jam)3.20
#458Innovation(Jam)2.80
#693Fun(Jam)2.20

Comments

Hamsternator says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:55am

I sort of wish this was a full fledged game. Digging up graves in search of notes felt like a dark version of Gone Home.

taocayo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:11am

Wow, I can't believe no one has commented on this one yet! It's pretty cool! Loved the art, absolutely beautiful. I dug in no particular order and felt the game ended too soon! Will go back to it and dig what I missed :D Great work!

javierecf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:45am

Interesting game, nice music, good ambient, the way the werewolf moves creeped me out. Also the incremental zoom is a nice scary effect.

Sometimes the depth position of the werewolf is behind the tumbstones.

Wertle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:10am

Creepy! And great story delivery. I must say my first instinct was to go right up to lantern wolf and see if I could talk to him. I thought he was going to tell me something interesting. Whoops!

NacelleGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:37am

Really liked the art, and the interpretation of the theme was really cool.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Nice character design. The music is atmospheric, too. If you sort out the z-order issues and add a goal to guide you, this can work out well.

nesis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Creepy! But I like that about it, the eerie art, music, and story go hand in hand.

(Wow, I just noticed I'm the second person to start off their comment with "Creepy!"...)

Helopol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:47pm

The writing is so so good ! Both in terms of litterature and intensity, loved it :D

bombjack says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:58pm

creepy music ;)

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:53pm

interesting idea, and nice visuals. Good job :)

HybridMind says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:29pm

I like the environmental feel and art. I couldn't get very far in the story each time though because the graveyard lantern guard seemed to catch me really easily. Tried about 4 times to play but only got to 3 notes of story. I enjoyed the writing that I was able to see anyway.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Really liked the visual style, character design and music.

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:21pm

The art is really cool. I digged up all parts of the story, needed to know how it ends^^

xdegtyarev says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Wow! your game is amaizing! cute and creepy, all on the top notch!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]