Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Try to get out

by morganbengtsson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are trapped beneath the surface, you do not see much, try to get out.

Use w,a,s,d, shift and space for movement.

Linux version requires OpenAL.
Some OpenAL related problems on Windows to. Crashes on some configurations. Please tell if it occurs. Will try to fix it, asap.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#113Mood3.71
#324Audio3.13
#659Theme3.15
#852Graphics2.69
#933Innovation2.56
#955Humor1.85
#980Overall2.73
#1213Fun1.92

Comments

Zyper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Can you link libgcc libs to the .exe? I can't run it.
Check this: http://stackoverflow.com/a/4703059

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Crashed cant start because libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll is missing

simplesmiler says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:38pm

For the windows build you're missing few .dll files, that the game will not start without:
- libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll
- libwinpthread-1.dll
- libstdc++-6.dll [probably]

You can find them under your compiler directory among other binary files. Please include those files so we all can play ;)
If you'll run into troubles finding them, feel free to contact me, I'll help you.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:47pm

I have added the sugessted dll:s. "Hopefully" it will work now!

seantheartist says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Kept crashing on my Windows 7 Ultimate. Here is the error:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: try_to_get_out.exe
Application Version: 0.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 535e5f43
Fault Module Name: StackHash_0a9e
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 00000000
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 00000000
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789


Cool game idea though, reminds me of Cosmos

lorancou says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:48pm

It runs for me! I didn't find a way out though... no clue? Great job on the mood anyway :)

Strandmullen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:48pm

The game worked for me, but I just couldn't find a way out. I got outside of the map though ,does that count?

It certainly felt good playing it, like I was actually there.

d_0o_d says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:49pm

I just played it. I like the mood and the sounds are really cool, but the game itself felt a bit slow...

sensenmann666 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:50pm

i got out! very dark and moody although the camera glitches quite a lot ;)

simplesmiler says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:12pm

It's working for me now.

Oh my, you must have put quite an effort. I have never managed to finish anything written in C++ & OpenGL myself, especially under time limit.

I like the mood and overall atmosphere.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:07pm

I loved the mood in your game. The instructions through the voice add quite a lot to the immersion. But I didn't find the exit and got lost in the deep blue sea :(

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:02pm

I got lost, but the atmosphere deeply moved me

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Really great mood! Nice job.

mandrake says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:16pm

The mood is definitely this game's greatest strength. Nicely done!

Wakka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:15am

nice gfx and sound. Is there a way to win this game?

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:45am

Thanks for all the ratings/comments. There actually is a way out, try looking for the red boxes.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Nice mood and immersion with the voice instructions. Altough I didn't really understood what each button did and I just seemed to drift around?
A bit annoying music, but it works and grows on me... really adds to the pressure...

I found the red boxes twice, but didn't really understood how to use them to get out...

javierecf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Really interesting game, is there suppose to be a white screen at the end with the sound of a heartbeat?, if so, maybe i did find a way out.

the controls are not easy to figure out, but the audio guide is an interesting concept, the music is a bit loud, kind of gave me a headache.

Overall a fine experience.

jsmars says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:13am

Really promising game, nice mood and presentation! You could move outside of the "world box" tho, and when I finally found an exit (I think) it just turned white and nothing more happened?

reheated says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Great atmosphere, I wish there was more to do though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]