Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

PATRIOT

by sumprunk - Jam Entry

[i]The story of one mans love for his country that crossed borders.[/i]

The cold war... has warmed up.
As the only anti-air submarine in your section, it is your job to make sure no bombs can get through to your homeland, and do everything you can to make sure that as many as possible reach the other side.

The fate of the world is decided deep below the surface.
Can you feel the pressure?

Marek B�czy�ski - Game Design and programming
Anders Larsson - Graphics
Kurak - Graphics
Karl Flodin - Music... and some graphics (but don't look at it)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#163Fun(Jam)3.37
#170Graphics(Jam)3.90
#182Audio(Jam)3.48
#236Humor(Jam)2.93
#236Mood(Jam)3.36
#271Overall(Jam)3.37
#364Theme(Jam)3.17
#443Innovation(Jam)2.84

Comments

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:17am

Lovin the vibe here. I need to go watch hunt for red october now.

Reinkout says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:44pm

I really liked it! The "delay" for the missiles makes it just the right amount harder. Thanks for this.

illugion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Really interesting color pallete ! I couldn't finish the game tho, what's the winning condition?

Vytheros says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:44pm

While the concept is good, it didn't really appeal to me. I do like the way the background art has been done, it's very psychedelic

taocayo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Love the humor on this one. Would've liked more track of what I'm doing, something like a missile/planes destroyed counter. Was really surprised when the planes started dropping torpedoes!

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Well done! The graphics are great, the sounds go along well, and the music is perfect for the theme. It plays well, and feels solid. Great work!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Its actually pretty fun and the theme is super original! Nice soundtrack too, well done!

davidc02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Great work. Love the colors and interesting music.

sumprunk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Thanks everyone! Really glad that you are liking it (especially the music, since that's what I made!) I'm gonna get around to looking at all of your games in a little bit, just need to finish some stuff up

sumprunk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Oh for those who asked the getting to the score screen is just surviving a certain amount of time (I think?) and your score is how many ships and stuff you've destroyed

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:17pm

This is a great entry. Nice work!

Mase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:32am

I saved ~4.5 million people from having to live in a capitalist society!

Mase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:35am

Also I was kind of curious if I could get a happier ending if I destroyed everything. But I was unable to find a viable cheese tactic to make this happen.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:47am

@Mase if you dive, the planes have a harder time spotting you and fire less bombs/torpedoes. After that it's just spamming space i guess :) Though to be completely honest, I still believe there's a bug in the scoring system and didn't ever manage to test it out fully before the deadline came D:

zillix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:16am

what a wonderful experience! the sound effects, graphics, and music all work quite well together.

Oye Beto says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:07am

I spammed missiles like crazy while evading to stay alive.
The gameplay makes me feel like something is missing but I don't know what it is.
I liked the clouds and color palette.

kiririn51 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:31am

I REALLY liked how I had to calculate the speed of my missiles so I could hit the other missiles, it gave it an extra layer of depth to a simplistic mechanic. The visuals are really great too, the only thing I disliked was the rocket trail, it looked out of place with its more "realistic" look.

fserb says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:24am

Really enjoyed the graphics. :)

byExclusive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:02am

good

petey123567 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:40am

I seemed to do okay by button mashing -- is there a downside to that?

Muciojad says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:19am

This music made my morning. Overall game is nice, I like this humor ;) But why I must control USSR boat? :/ JK ;)

drnick says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:29am

Congratulations for great game, comrade game developer!
Check my game too, features also our great Motherland!

Switchbreak says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Really love the art style. Would be nice to have a score or some kind of objective.

May 3, 2014 @ 5:50pm

The delay on the missiles made this game very difficult, but I like it.

Lyje says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:16pm

I like the sun background :)

AlbertoSM says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:06pm

That background is BEAST. The music might need some work, since it gets tiring, fast. The mechanics are really good, kept me going, but in mute lol!

May 3, 2014 @ 10:20pm

nice job!

angelk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:37am

Is there some hunt for red october, Sean Connery going on here? Took me a second to realize the planes and missiles going left to right are bad and right to left are good, but it's obvious once you realize it. The graphics are simple but the night sky looks really interesting. Solid work.

cavf88 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Awesome graphics!

May 6, 2014 @ 1:17pm

That was fantastic, really liked the music and art style. Nice, simple game play mechanics as well.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]