Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Safecracker

by enosshenk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You know there's something good inside this safe. You've drilled a hole to peer through at the lock tumblers, using your eyes and your ears can you crack the safe?

- Controls -
Left arrow, Right arrow or Controller left thumbstick: Spin the dial
Keyboard B, or Controller A button: Toggle peering through the drilled hole

- The goal is to get the tumblers inside the lock to line up, allowing the safe to be opened. You can see the notch on the tumblers, and hear as it passes the lock fence. If all three tumblers line up properly, you win.

- Built in UnrealEngine 4, using Blueprints. All modelling done in Blender during the compo time frame. Since there's no source code for Blueprint I included all of the game content, including the Blueprints.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#130Graphics3.93
#221Innovation3.56
#614Overall3.13
#1930Coolness26%

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:28am

Awesome, those graphics are so good, and the gameplay is awesome!

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:33am

Can't run... I got error with some binaries and path. :(

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:36am

I'm also having trouble running it- missing the MSVCP120.dll when I attempt running the exe, and when I run the shortcut it can't find the path.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:38am

So simple and fun!
Loved it...

davidB says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:42am

the shortcut 'Play!' at the root of the project should be removed. it links to a 'wrong place' : C:\Users\xxxxx\Desktop\Safecracker\WindowsNoEditor\Safecracker\Binaries\Win32\Safecracker.exe

LewisW says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:21am

MSVCP120.dll error as well. I do have that .dll in system32, so I moved it into the executable folder and got this:

Safecracker.exe - Application Error
The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b). Click OK to close the application.

ezolotko says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:14am

Doesnt work

enosshenk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:39am

Apologies to anyone who can't play this due to the missing DLL. If you don't have the VC++ Redist you can find it on google if you still want to play.

New engine woes I suppose.

HelixFox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Play shortcut doesn't work. (It tries to load something from my desktop?) Went digging and found an exe but couldn't run it, even with the VC++ Redist. Same missing DLL error as above.

Biliogadafr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:19pm

On my old GeForce Gt240 it works too slow. And also I can't see the scene when zooming in because everything is too dark. (Incorrect rendering?) So I can't rate it. The cost of new technologies... But anyway I want to try Unreal Engine for myself in the future. It was interesting to see what can be done with UE and Blender :)

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Same error as Lacaranian =/

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:51am

Very nice!

Moosefly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Doesn't work for me either. Even after installing VC++ Redist 2013 and copying the DLL from windows32 to the game folder, I get the same error as LewisW. Shame, because the screenshot and idea seems kickass.

mimic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Yeah, I couldn't get it to run either after install the VC redist either. It's a shame cause this looked really cool.

mjrevel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Can't run :( complains about binaries

Techblogogy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:38pm

For starters those graphics are awesome! The game is fantastic, although sounds are a bit doggy you should finish it!

TeamInCharge says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Nice to see others using UE4 as well. In regards to the issues people are having I would recommend:

- Include the correct redist in your download, we did that and most people seemed to be able to run the game fine.
- Don't include a shortcut with an absolute path. Instead a bat file can use relative paths thats work for everyone. Or create an installer that handles creating correct shortcuts. (Can take care of the prerequisites as well)

Anyway, regarding the game: I like your take on the theme and the presentation. My main criticism would be that it takes quite a bit of time to crack the first time, combined with the limited feedback on whether you are making progress, makes it hard for the player to feel like they are progressing through the game.

DonovanWu says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:00pm

My laptop is not good enough to run it... Perhaps you should specify a minimum system requirement to run it? Such as requirement for processor, RAM, video card...

rojo says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Cool use of theme. Nice graphics as well. Not super fun, though. Might be better if it felt more like a game - faster moving tumblers, time limit, etc.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]