Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Town: LD 29 Roguelike

by Nkracer - Jam Entry

Hi, I'm Nick and this is my Game 'Beneath the Town' It is a roguelike, where your goal is to explore deeper and deeper into the dungeons and kill the monsters inside. This is not only my first Jam game finished ever, but my first game finished ever, and as a 14 year old coder, I'm quite proud of it.

When you download it, run the 'Beneath the Town.exe' in the folder!

The story starts with, you a lonely adventurer, sitting in a tavern. A courier hands you a summons, to a small town nearby, and the pay is high, strangely high. you get to the town and they fill you in, Their village is being threatened by a dungeon beneath the surface of the ground. Only one thing is expected of you down there. Kill, or be killed. Have Fun!

Controls: G = Pick-Up, I = Inventory, arrow keys to move, esc to quit to main menu (autosaves) Once you finish on a level find the white '<' and cliack 'shift' + ',' whilst standing on it to move on!

known bugs: sometimes stairwell does not spawn, in which case start a new game, sorry.
- Occasional dumb AI will not attack, and will simply sit in place
- If you have many, many potions on you, game will crash upon opening inventory

Development stuffs:
Librairies: Libtcod
Language: Python
Programs: Notepad++, Py2Exe

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#300Fun(Jam)3.12
#398Mood(Jam)3.00
#455Overall(Jam)3.08
#472Theme(Jam)2.96
#690Graphics(Jam)2.35
#693Innovation(Jam)2.23
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

wespaugh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:07pm

It's hard to make a competent roguelike in 2 days. You've done an excellent job, especially with regard to the lighting. That stuff is not easy.

Nkracer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Thanks man!

dkkarate says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:59pm

I can't wait to play it. I try to change the batch file like it says but after I did it I got a whole slew of errors :p I guess I'll have to wait for the .exe

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:59pm

A good start for a standard roguelike and always nice to see another Pygame entry. I ran into the stairwell bug the first time. Also, it seemed like about half the orcs/goblins were completely docile and just let me have my way with them.

Nkracer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Yeah, I tried to figure that out, but I ended up running out of time, so as a counter to that, to make it more difficult, the ones that can move have a farther attack range! sorry, about that.

Vytheros says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Not a fan of rogue-likes, but it is still pretty good to say you had 48 hours.

Nkracer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Thanks for playing :D

elpaulo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Oh ! So good memory... I really enjoy this kind of game, good job !

elpaulo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:21pm

oww, the game just crash when I opened my inventory ! I had many health potions !

Nkracer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Thanks, and sorry for the crash, don't know what's up with that. I'll loook into it

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:40am

Nice work! I like it!

yo_milo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:47am

Amazing game... I was like... It is impossible to lose... got careless... and died!

The fog of war is great! I loved your game!

Nkracer says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:49pm

thanks guys!

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:02am

Great idea!!!

kibertoad says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Good idea, decent work on the dungeon. One question: how do I attack things?

Nkracer says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Simply walk at them while next to them, and a message will come up saying you hit them, the player only has melee fighting.

ccglp says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Good rogue like, I really like the minimal art style, very good job!

Nkracer says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:16pm

thanks man

JavadocMD says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:06am

A fun and functional roguelike. Good work!

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 5:09am

This was fun, but I almost always spawned in a room without an exit! I tried playing this a couple of times and I haven't been able to get any further than level 2 for this reason. Sometimes I'm even spawned in just a tiny square (exitless) room, which is a shame considering how elaborate the generated levels in this game can be.

Ignoring those issues, it's still fun to play this game. It keeps things simple, which makes it enjoyable to just blast through. And the fog-of-war effect is excellent. I'm a bit confused by the controls for exiting a room, though; as long as the action still takes one turn, why isn't it just one key press? :P

But overall, this game does hit all the marks of a roguelike and is a cool experience, so nice work!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]