Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sharkness Monster

by Vulpus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as Sharky Mc. Bitesalot in this arcade style point game. Eat fish to gain stamina and use it to attack fast.
Then attack attack attack! Remind them why they fear, what lies beneath the surface.

This was a challenging build for me, but an educational one. I had to work on Saturday missing out on 6 hours of work (FML right?) Unfortunately I wasn't able to find out how to launch a Slick2d game as an apple, so I understand if you don't want to download. I learned alot, enjoyed my time doing it. Good luck, have fun. Not my proudest game but my game non the less. The code in Undocumented, messy as all hell. Unfortunate to say but it happens when you rush.

~~ NOTE: YOU MUST BE GOING FAST (HOLD SHIFT) TO ATTACK FISHERMEN ~~

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#305Humor2.86
#508Fun3.07
#528Theme3.30
#579Mood2.96
#597Audio2.68
#783Innovation2.74
#833Graphics2.73
#928Overall2.79

Comments

ceosol says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:24am

This is a hidden gem of a game. I love the jaws feel to it. I encountered a few bugs with graphics and eating people in the larger ships, but it was still a great entry. Good luck with further development. :)

Vulpus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Thanks for the comment ceosol, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:43pm

It got a bit boring after a while, but the mechanics felt nice. There were flying fishies!

RPWhitaker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:49pm

fun idea. space to go faster wasnt working for me though?

pighead10 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Pretty game, fun mechanics!

Vulpus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:01pm

sudo i like to refer to those fishies as liquid challenged fish. RPWhitaker, was the green bar empty? If it is you need to eat fish to regain stamina.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Nice music. I think this needs a *chomp* sound badly :D

RikardKarlsen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:45pm

A really good game! And I loved the music, it fitted perfectly.

Salamander3 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:30pm

JAWS SIMULATOR 2014. Had great fun with this jumping up at the kids in boats, the music was amazing. Loved it.

cheesepencil says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:33pm

I love being a shark!

raisedmedia says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Surprisingly fun entry! Really good work.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]