Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Jet Force Gemini

by gamesbyangelina - Jam Entry

-----------
CONTROLS
-----------

WASD - Move
Mouse to look
Spacebar - Jump

This is a game about a wrecked destroyer. A submarine. The game only has one level, and the objective is to reach the exit. Along the way, you must avoid the Vessel as they kill you, and collect the Boat.

I use some sound effects from FreeSound, like the sound of navy. Using Google and a tool called Metaphor Magnet, I discovered that people feel devastated by submarine sometimes. So I chose a eerie piece of music from Kevin Macleod's Incompetech website to complement the game's mood.

Let me know what you think. In future I'll put more levels into my games, and also make the mechanics more interesting.

--------------------------------
IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT THIS GAME
--------------------------------

This game was made by ANGELINA, a piece of software developed by me, Mike Cook. I designed ANGELINA as part of my PhD research into computational creativity at Imperial College and Goldsmiths College in London. ANGELINA is designed to make games based on simple theme inputs, and this is what it made for Ludum Dare 29's theme.

The commentary above is ANGELINA's description of the game. It's based on a template, but the specifics (about the submarine, the music and so on) are all genuine and filled in by the software as it designs.

Please rate this game as you would any other Ludum Dare game. ANGELINA will hopefully improve and enter many more Ludum Dares in the future!

For more information on the project: http://www.gamesbyangelina.org

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#196Mood(Jam)3.46
#262Audio(Jam)3.31
#415Innovation(Jam)2.90
#494Humor(Jam)2.26
#638Graphics(Jam)2.62
#711Overall(Jam)2.40
#740Theme(Jam)1.81
#745Fun(Jam)1.90

Comments

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:55pm

It was really well done! The AI made a game that was fun (and creepy!). Creative and unique, I enjoyed playing.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:05pm

That was really creepy! i'd like to know more about Angelina, gonna search on the web.

st33d says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:07pm

I felt I was having fun but wholly the wrong reasons. I think for generative entertainment that's still a plus.

Nizar89 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:09pm

I wouldn't call it a great game, but I was really impressed by the engine. Keep going!

tomc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:51pm

ANGELINA has a thing for collecting boats!

Colthor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:37pm

The sound effects are really sinister.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:50am

Strange moods, the sound ambiance is really great. Maybe the controls and collisions need a bit of polishing but that's really good work for 72h.

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:11am

at first i fell from the world you should probably put a collider down there, other than that this has got to be the scariest game this ld and the fact that it was built by an ai is interesting

Therrato says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Amazing how Angelina came up with this game, it does have a creepy vibe, the voice was really weird, since i think it was dutch, but couldnt place the link to the theme

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Quite stoked about the fact this was created by an AI! I'm impressed about the mood this game manages to set.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:23pm

I haven't played the game yet (still loading), but I just wanted to say that weirdly, I begin to consider Angelina like a gamedev friend. It's great to see her progress through Ludum Dare. Keep doing this please. Also, Angelina is getting lurid : I clicked only because the game is called Jet Force Gemini, and it doesn't seem this has anything to do with the original game. We'll see. (God! This loading screen. It takes FOREVER!)

mechabit says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:25pm

One day AI will put us game designers out of a job but luckily not today, still very incoherent. It's playable though.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:34pm

I fell in a hole at the very beginning and had to reload the game. Not cool Angelina. NOT. COOL.

Aside from that, the game is really creepy. Mostly because of the audio. Angelina should learn to code agressive AI.

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Love the work you're doing with Angelina, keep it up! As for the game itself, well I thought it had great ambience, but not much else!

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Can you please provide a linux-executable since the web-player is win/mac-only

Nezzhil says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:18pm

ANGELINA did a better work than the last time.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Allrighty, i was about to jump on conclusions here and then i've read about this Angelina and: WOW. wow.
It's a wacky game, indeed. But done by an AI? The way things are evolving nowdays i might loose my job soon.
Kudos!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:26pm

The idea of having a software design a game for you is really great, but I'm not sure about the execution. I'm sorry to say that I can't really see improvements from last time, when I though it was cool as I hadn't seen anything like it before. The best things about it (music, sound fx, models) are still chosen by you, I guess. If you had a software that did this, even if in a most strange, random and glitchy way, now that would be cool. I'd love to try something like that myself, but I guess I'm not the right man for that job. But who knows... :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Hey Martin,

ANGELINA chose the music, sound effects and models itself. It searches online databases based on words it associates with Ludum Dare's themes.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:30pm

That was creepy. The fact that this was made by an artificial being is simply astonishing and makes it even creepier. Lots of mood in this one.

May 1, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Oh, sorry man!
I misread that part, I thought it was you talking. ;) Makes sense though, I was wondering why you would chose that flying man... ;)

Lyje says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:45am

Creepy stuff!

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:53am

Eek, I managed to fall through the ground right at the start. D: Odd game... bit like watching an 'art house' movie.

DonovanWu says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:42am

Wow, this is probably better than some games designed by human. The AI is amazing!

jsspiegel says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Kind of terrifying, I felt very worried whenever I turned a corner that there would be an enemy behind it. It's very similar to Angelina's last entry, but I guess that's to be expected. Next step is to have her (her?) make the templates herself! Keep up the good work!

Penguincat says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:32am

This is such an amazing idea, you make me want to write my own game-making AI! I love how effectively it created a creepy atmosphere. Playing it (and knowing it was made by ANGELINA) made me feel like I was inside the mind of that AI from Harlan Ellison's short story "I Have No Mouth, and I Must Scream" and it was going to murder me horribly at any moment, lol! It ended up getting pretty decent ratings from me even though I rated it as if it were made by a human. It's mainly the creepy mood that carries it, since the gameplay is very simplistic. That random spaceship though... it just doesn't fit. You should teach ANGELINA that spaceships don't belong underground! :P

May 5, 2014 @ 12:37am

Hey! Jet Force Gemini( not Rare's...Angelina's!) is featured on my "favorites" post

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/04/my-favorite-ld29-games/

MintArcade says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:38am

Little creepy, very strange experience...

May 6, 2014 @ 2:38am

Angelina, why your games are always so creepy? xD

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:38am

Let me start by saying I'm reviewing this as game as if it were made by a person, not a computer, like you asked. If I were to rate the ANGELINA project itself I'd certainly be a lot less critical! :P

So, about the game itself. There isn't really much to it, and it's pretty much the same game as To That Sect from the last LD. With that said, even though all you do in the game is find some items and then an exit, it manages to be EXTREMELY creepy once again, and actually ups the ante since last time. Maybe ANGLELINA should start focusing on horror games!

These games are always very interesting. I'm curious to see what lies in the future of this project!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]