Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Aquifer

by loggs2 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Goal of game:
The goal of this game is to locate a deep water source beneath the ground layers and completely uncover the water source. This will allow a future town to setup a water well and thrive.

How to play:
* Match tiles based off their image type (dirt, grass, plains, water) using the current dig shape to dig into the ground and gain power up points.
* To win the game, find the major water source hidden beneath the surface and completely uncover it. The ground is made up of multiple layers and the water source is at the lowest layer.
* Use the radar power up to search an area for the water source. X means no source found, !!! means source found at that location. Costs 3 power ups.
* Use the explosion power up to clear large sections of tiles. Explosions do not require matching tiles. Cost 5 power ups.
* Change to a new dig shape with the change tile type power. Cost 1 power up.
* Tiles automatically change if not used within 10 seconds.

F4 quits the game.

Keyboard usage:
W or Up-Arrow = Move up
A or Left-Arrow = Move left
D or Right-Arrow = Move Right
S or Down-Arrow = Move Down
Enter = Attempt dig match / Activate Power
[ and ] keys = Rotate current dig shape
P = Arm / Disarm Explosion Power
O = Arm / Disarm Radar Power
I = Change Tile Type Power

XBOX360 usage:
Joypad for movement (joysticks not supported)
A = Attempt dig match / Activate Power, menu selection
X, Y, B = Rotate current dig shape
LB = Arm / Disarm Explosion Power
RB = Arm / Disarm Radar Power
Select = Change Tile Type Power

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#299Innovation3.44
#517Overall3.21
#531Audio2.82
#676Theme3.13
#832Fun2.71
#836Graphics2.72
#922Mood2.58
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

telaviv says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:55am

no linux version :(

loggs2 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58am

@telaviv Linux port is in progress, sorry it's not ready yet. :(

Shivur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:02am

I can't run the program because it's invalid for windows 32

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:04am

It was pretty tricky to grasp the mechanics, but it seems like a pretty unique idea. :)

muramasa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:10am

It says "Can't run because it's not a valid Win32 application" (my Windows is in Spanish so this translation is probably innacurate).

Hope you fix it to be able to rate.

lokijki says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:10am

Really enjoyed this! Wish the green tiles were a bit easier to tell apart, but other than that, a lot of fun!

loggs2 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:59am

@Shivur @muramasa I built the game with VS 2012 which doesn't seem to have XP support (my guess is you both have XP). I will try to build with VS 2010 and see if that clears the issue.

loggs2 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11am

I updated the download zip file to include a Aquifer_XP.exe for anyone running on XP or anyone seeing a "not a valid win32 program." Hopefully that will take care of it!

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:48am

As already mentioned, the concept was pretty hard to grasp at first, but after I got it, it was actually quite nice. Would probably work on mobile platforms with some slight changes. :)

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Pretty cool concept, but I wish that there was more motivation to dig stuff. Even a 'how much can you uncover in 1 minute?' would have added a lot.

Ellian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Very solid entry, once you understand how this works it's quite fun! Took me a while, but I found the water source!

tomvert says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:20pm

An unusual game, a unique idea, i liked it !

vogon101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:20pm

This is hard game that i don't get but fun nonetheless.

xbcw says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:05am

This game is strangely fun.

hyouko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:06am

Solid puzzle title. I have a hard time placing the T-shaped blocks later in the game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:31pm

I did it. It only took me like 700 seconds because I'm so smart. It seemed like any time I got a T-Shape I had to just wait it out for something else.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]