Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Operation Nereids

by ReactorScram - Jam Entry

Maneuver your submarine past abyssal horrors!

Float dangerously close to 3 priceless ancient statues and scan them, for science!

Featuring music by "composer": https://soundcloud.com/skyler-moosman

Source code is AGPLv3, graphical art is CC Attribution Share-Alike. Music is all rights reserved.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#309Audio(Jam)3.19
#444Theme(Jam)3.00
#479Mood(Jam)2.87
#572Graphics(Jam)2.83
#629Overall(Jam)2.72
#655Fun(Jam)2.33
#728Innovation(Jam)2.06
#1877Coolness30%

Comments

Crefossus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:24am

Great job on the bubble particles and artwork. I also like how you made use of all directions in the level design, since it is a sub after all.

sam101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Nice graphics, nice audio, nice animations ! The game lacks a bit of fun, but good execution, the bubble are nice. The level design is cool too, good job.

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:26am

The art is nice to look at!

drnick says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:54am

A shame it isn't a bigger game.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:03am

I'm getting an error (on Linux running from source). You should build a .love file for us linux users (as much as we love source).

Error: cannot open ./screen-data.lua: No such file or directory
stack traceback:
[C]: in function 'dofile'
scene-game.lua:43: in function 'loadLevelData'
scene-game.lua:37: in function 'new'
main.lua:18: in function 'load'
[string "boot.lua"]:407: in function <[string "boot.lua"]:399>
[C]: in function 'xpcall'

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:11am

While the game seems technically well made, it lacks real gameplay. With only two types of obstacles each only used in one way, there's nothing to engage the player. The music was good though, and the bubble effect looked nice.

ryangatts says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:15am

Interesting idea. It would be nice if there were a game over screen for success and failure.

ReactorScram says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:19am

arrogant.gamer: Yeah this is because I use "dofile" which doesn't look inside the Zip file. You have to copy screen-data.lua into the directory the game runs from, the .love file alone isn't enough.

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:45am

Hey look another submarine game :) mines a sub game. wasnt sure what to do but cool!

alvarop says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:09pm

The game works well but I would have liked it to be more "clear" on the winning conditions. Also, a little bit more variety when it comes to challenged would have been nice. I enjoyed exploring it, I wish there was more to discover. Like the music!

ReactorScram says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:36am

arrogant.gamer: DesertRock said it would be okay to patch this since it doesn't affect gameplay. So now I've uploaded a version 3.0.1 of the LOVE file which should work on any LOVE 0.9

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:39am

Nice and moody, music works well with it. I couldn't figure out what to do once I scanned all the statues, though.

Tomski says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:32am

Not entirely sure what was meant to happen when all the statues had been scanned. Still, a good game with nice visuals and music!

Sink says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Really great music! I like how it progressed when I touched another statue. Also the bubbles coming from the back was neat

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]