Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nauticalamity

by A Herd Of Cats - Jam Entry

Nauticalamity is a 2D puzzle game about the food chain - simply click a fish and drag it to a fish of a lower level to consume it! Longer chains can be formed as long as you go down in levels, so clearing the entire board is possible in one move.

So yes, it's possible for an angler fish to eat a whale or two, then a few cuttlefish, then finish off with a long chain of plankton.

We know it doesn't make sense.

But, as easy as it sounds, be careful, as you don't want to overflow your board! Always keep the top row empty and last as long as you can!

***************

Team - A Herd of Cats, AKA Team QT

QTBear - Unity God, artist, obviously a cute bear
Ghor - Programmer, did one art thing
LetoDev - Unity scrub and artist, yelled at people for scope creep, therapist

Special Thanks - Zeus, AGDG

*************
Music/Sound Credits -

"Overcast" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Kastenfrosch/AlaskaRobotics - Clips from Freesound.org

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2054Coolness17%

Comments

Stratovarius says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54am

Fun game but way too easy

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:01am

nice graphics and the music goes perfectly with the game. Well done! I find the game a little fast at the beginning, but once you get the hang of it its quite fun to play =]

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:02am

also, thanks for you comment on my game! I replied to you there =]

Magdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Interesting game however it might have been more interesting if the larger animal stayed after eating, and it followed more of a sliding block gameplay rather than the always growing taller block thing.

Vandash says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Pretty nice game; I'm completely panicking at the start with the speed of it :)

AGDG_REJECT says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:53am

Very nice. I like the art. The music and audio is nice too. The puzzle mechanics weren't bad at all either.

hbocao says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:38am

Pretty game! And fun too! I just thought that was too fast at the beginning.

kiririn51 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:33am

AAAH so pretty and fun, addictive too, I love it.

Moosefly says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Damn that was fast. Managed to score 472 or so points before losing. It's solid, but somewhat too fast for my tastes (less reaction, more thinking you know ;)).

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]