Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Escaping Scofield Mine

by runvs - Jam Entry

You've been trapped beneath the surface in Scofield Mine.
You need to find a way out of it.

"Escaping Scofield Mine" is a point-and-click adventure game. It's completely controlled by mouse, just click on the tile above where you want to go.

Our (@Thunraz and @Laguna_999) tools of the trade are Visual Studio 2012/2013, Cubase 5, SFXR, Aseprite, AutoTileGen, TexturePacker, Tiled.

You need the .NET Framework 4 or a recent Mono version for playing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#42Theme(Jam)3.91
#101Mood(Jam)3.74
#238Graphics(Jam)3.71
#252Audio(Jam)3.33
#273Overall(Jam)3.36
#406Humor(Jam)2.47
#461Fun(Jam)2.82
#476Innovation(Jam)2.76

Comments

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:49pm

I can get past the loadingscreen. It does not respond.

xevozfighter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:51pm

The game crashes at the loading screen.

CheeseyBob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:08pm

The really great art and sound design creates a good atmosphere in this game. Would have liked to see the people you find follow you out of the mine.

runvs says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:17pm

@thx4nothing @xevozfighter: Is there any output on the console window? Do you have the .NET Framework installed? If so, which version?


@CheeseyBob: Thanks! Yeah, we would have liked to add some more features (for example the miners following you) but we ran out of time. We bot put about 20 hours in the game.

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Here is the error:

Failed to create an OpenGL context for this window

Ausnahmefehler: System.AccessViolationException: Es wurde versucht, im geschützt
en Speicher zu lesen oder zu schreiben. Dies ist häufig ein Hinweis darauf, dass
anderer Speicher beschädigt ist.
bei SFML.Graphics.RenderTexture.sfRenderTexture_create(UInt32 Width, UInt32 H
eight, Boolean DepthBuffer)
bei SFML.Graphics.RenderTexture..ctor(UInt32 width, UInt32 height, Boolean de
pthBuffer)
bei JamUtilities.AreatricCloud..ctor(Vector2f position, Color col, Color back
groundColor, Single puffSize, Single cloudRadius)
bei JamTemplate.World.CreateClouds()
bei JamTemplate.World.InitGame()
bei JamTemplate.Game.StartGame()
bei JamTemplate.Game.DrawMenu(RenderWindow rw)
bei JamTemplate.Game.Draw(RenderWindow rw)
bei JamTemplate.Program.Main(String[] args)

runvs says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:31pm

@thx4nothing: Thank you!

We updated our build to (hopefully) get rid of this error. Please let us know if there are still any errors.

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:06pm

I still get the same error. I also tried to install Mono, but it did not work.

skymen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Really good game :D.
Graphics and audio are cool. I like the atmosphere it makes

wilpel1234 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:58pm

i like this game, the graphics is awesome!

runvs says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:59pm

@thx4nothing: We added another build (top, Failsafe build) which doesn't use certain features (namely the clouds on the surface).
Do you have an Intel graphics chipset? It seems that there are some problems involved. If you've got the time, try updating to the latest graphics drivers.
Thanks for keeping us updated!

Stepperz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:32pm

All i get is a console window flash up for a split second :(

Stepperz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:33pm

My bad :) I hadn't fully extracted it!!

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Awesome atmosphere.

Stepperz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Awesome Graphics!! Some player animations would improve that even more though. The music was great and it really suited the atmosphere :)

Nicoll Hunt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Could have used some cursor key controls after all the clicking required to escape, but nice atmosphere and mood!

Seme says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Nice graphics and music! Game got a little easier when I figured out that keeping the left mouse button pressed is enough to move, not constant pressing required. Good job!

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Great graphics and sounds, could be a bit more responsive, though that is a common problem in point'n'clicks. Good game.

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Really great style! The slightly wonky pathfinding was annoying, but aside from that, great game! You did a lot with a little.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:15pm

The clickbeep gets very annoying after a while. I liked the graphics and the music was ok. Would be nice with some challenge or at least one more difficult puzzle.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Very fast drill ;). Seriously interesting game, I liked skinny people with helmets. Music is very cool too...

rujo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:21am

i love the pixel art style and the fake scanlines effect
very nice entry

Kevlanche says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Cool atomsphere. I enjoyed it, even though it was a bit short.

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Very nice looking, but text is hard to read when it's dark. UI should be on a layer above that stuff.

Andy Gainey says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Good framework, but was lacking any real gameplay. I never had to make a decision that seemed to matter, or solve a puzzle that felt rewarding.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]