Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Breaking The Waves

by BlazingFanfish - Jam Entry

Join this amazing adventure-rpg, staring Ben Eath who aims to become the Surf Ace and to find his long lost father in the seven seas.

Meet with various people and challenge them to a Wave Breaking Duel! Find the truth hidden behind this world! Explore the world with your party!

Controls :
Space/Enter/C for almost anything
Arrows for selecting choices
Alt+Enter for full screen
F1 for options
F12 for return to main menu

------------------------------
The game was gonna be a big world to explore, but due the times constraint, we choose to put the focus on the story. We'll polish this game next time. :)

------------------------------
For you guys who interested in the bgm, our friend monkeyth had them uploaded in the link below :
https://soundcloud.com/keith-k-bunardy/sets/breaking-the-waves

Credits
Game Director : Black Mage

Engine : RPG MAKER XP

Story Writer : midgarsormr

Spriting : midgarsormr, metachia, RMXP RTP

Character Design : go namikaze, metachia

Artist : go namikaze, midgarsormr, Black Mage

Mapper : cirnine, Black Mage

Sounds & BGM : monkeyth, Kain Vinosec, RMXP RTP

THANK YOU FOR PLAYING

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#230Humor(Jam)2.95
#284Audio(Jam)3.24
#429Graphics(Jam)3.24
#444Theme(Jam)3.00
#446Overall(Jam)3.09
#458Mood(Jam)2.92
#486Fun(Jam)2.78
#697Innovation(Jam)2.21

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:58am

The game in "MediaFire" link are crashed due some library and graphics are missing. You can continue if you have the library or the RPG Maker XP installed. The graphics can be replaced with the black one.

If you download from "MediaFire2 (BugFix)" link, both of the problem and other bugs are already fixed.

Sorry for the inconvenience.

bob_fish says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:12am

This was pretty damn good. There was occasional humour,the story was awesome and overall it was quite fun to play. Well done

holgk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:51am

It would be nice if you couldn't call it MediaFire. I'm on a linux os and it's complicated to run exe files. Therefore please rename it windows. Nevertheless your screenshots are looking quite nice.

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:09am

The shounen anime-style story was amusingly goofy, and the map design is nice, but the constant typos really pulled me out of the experience. Proof reading game scripts is lengthy and boring, but it's so, so important.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:28am

@holgk
Fixed. Thanks for reminding us :)

@GrooveMan
I'll take a note on it for a future Jam :)

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:05pm

The game's very linear, music is good, and the story was amusing at times. Would've still liked a bit of openness. (Though, I didn't complete the game, so if there's exploration later, I'm very sorry.)

eowindil says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Great compo !
The game is linear RPG and is used to tell a story, so it's more a contemplative game than a RPG.
The graphics are fantastic, the sound is great.
Now I think the gameplay is off balance, and you always use your special skill to one shot the enemies (except the three last ones)

Good work !

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Wow. So good for a Jam entry :D

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Those abs man!
Those abs...

Good game!

muramasa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:22pm

The editted resources clash a lot with the RTP resources. Some are pretty strange. But I like the mugshots a lot (that big artwork that appears when they talk). I liked the audio too.
Now, the game. The story was pretty confusing and felt like a mash up of a lot of things. Also dialogues are pretty bad. Comical sketches are not my cup of tea, but they were fine and added some good interaction between the characters.
Battles are pretty shallow. Most skills are damage-dealing techniques, with some exceptions. Ben's fourth skill kills anyone (if not, any of the other characters gives it the last hit and voilà, dead). Even the final boss, if you get to paralyze him, he is practically dead.

There is a lot of things that feel rushed. Obviously because of time. But I know it can be done better. Hope you people fight again! (?). To keep polishing your skills!

pichifino says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:05am

Like it

Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:01am

great job guys. i love it. :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:00am

Lesson of the day: Everything in life can be solved with a Double Radical Heavy Turnover.

You should pass the script through a spell checker for dialogue-heavy games. Nothing major, but I had to reread a couple parts, and there's a few grammar issues scattered around.

Lighthearted. Cliché at times, but not painfully so. Characters are well-drawn. Overall, it was quite enjoyable. Good work!

Finally, the obligatory: DUDE, THEY'RE SURFING ON LAVA!

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:08am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Oh man, if I could copy Muramasa's entire review right here I would. The mugshot art was great, though it clashes pretty badly with the in-battle art. Having gold and EXP pop-ups when they're meaningless, and most of the battles finished by using the special attack (while the one in the cloud place told me that my target was dead--then they killed me)... and the long dialogues... all of it taken together was pretty messy.

Also, please consider not passing domestic violence off as humor, or at least put up a warning for it? It'd be helpful. Thanks...

Good luck, and thanks for the game.

randoman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:57am

LETS BREAK THE WAVES! Ben is overpowered. Almost all enemies are killable with only one hit of the DOUBLE RADICAL HEAVY TURNOVER. Though if you like anime and stuff the story really digs.

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:26am

This is really good!

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:54am

Love the graphics

skymen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Really awesome game. Surely the best I've tested here. You made an awesome job!

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Cool, a jrpg. well done :)

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Awesome battle music! rockin out.

May 1, 2014 @ 5:16am

This is amazing you guys!!!!! Thank you thank you thank you for this <3 So pretty and so fun!

Hob623 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Story is nice, but the gameplay itself was mostly mashing the space bar. :/

AtkinsSJ says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Bizarre, but I liked it! Made me laugh. :D

mechabit says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:44pm

nice artwork

petey123567 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:53pm

This is hilarious!

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:39pm

The poor quality of the writing really killed it. Surfing combat was an amusing idea, but it was downright difficult to read that text. If you are going to make a dialog-driven game, you really need to make sure it's free of errors.

Nichii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:39am

The last boss is almost impossible, i dunno how to beat it. The game only involved the mashing of the enter key haha. But it is an interesting story :D. I liked how you improvised the theme as well lolz

May 4, 2014 @ 2:21am

Thanks for everyone that commenting our typos. The game is now updated with grammar and typos fixed, also we did some balancing, which makes the game more challenging. :)

terraco says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:02pm

I can't say anything that hasn't been said. Balancing needs to be done, nice work on the graphics

May 5, 2014 @ 9:17am

Nice idea and artworks, J-RPG just arent for me...

NoNoBattle says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Lots of great ideas in this one (surfer combat = automatic awesome). The story was fun, and the art you did yourself was also pretty good.

On the other hand, with a powerful tool like the RPG Maker and the standard graphics and scripts, a whole team could have done a lot more in one weekend. I wish I could do more in this world of battling surfers! The combat is also straight-forward, and most of the time you can just spam your standard attack to kill the enemy. Basically all I'm doing is pressing Enter all the time.

Keep at it, lots of good ideas, and the RPG Maker is a great tool to get started with making games.

ActionRemix says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:04am

AMAZING dialogue.

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:32am

I did have a lot of fun with this, but it was brought to my attention that most of it was made with premade RPG Maker assets...which I suppose explains the massive difference in quality between the character portraits between dialog and fight scenes. :P But the soundtrack is original, and very good, so high Audio score for you!

It's also a shame that you didn't expand the gameplay beyond the most basic RPG battle system, as there really isn't a lot of interaction or choice that goes into battles aside from choosing to attack/defend/stat boost. The fact that the entirety of gameplay is limited to only battle sequences is a letdown as well.

Nonetheless, the silly, quirky story certainly makes this game a memorable experience, as well as the hilariously elaborate names & descriptions to the attacks (if only I could see a guy jump between two surfboards while attacking a sea creature, I would die happy). As for the dialogue, it's clear that you're not native English speakers, given how many grammar & spelling errors are sprinkled throughout it. Nonetheless, it's clear that you tried your best, and the important thing is that the story is perfectly understandable despite being a bit awkward to read at times. Perhaps consider finding someone to proofread it next time (I'm sure plenty of people would be willing to offer).

May 14, 2014 @ 5:28am

@mrjohnson22
Thanks for playing our games. We're happy if others are happy playing our game. :)

Let me clarify something. The character dialogue portrait was made on the 1st day of the ludum dare. It's not premade. Our artist can't complete their job because they had to prepare for another event right after the day the ludum dare finished, so they need to take their leave on the 2nd day of ludum dare. The rest of the graphics asset were made right a few hours before the submision ends by the team that still have some conciousness left :P .

2HitAdam says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Very ambitious project, can't believe how much content you got in there! It sucked a little that my dad could just 1-hit me (in V-3) but otherwise, good effort!

Trilby says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 11:39am

Wow! So much content!

I love the wordplay.

May 18, 2014 @ 6:50am

I really like RPG Maker games, and I had much fun playing this game!

I loved the anime-styled story and characters (I'm a huge fan of anime), and in my opinion, the focus on the story and the linearity brought a nice pacing to the game. I was hooked till the end! =)

I hope I'm not asking too much, but... Please make a sequel for this game, a continuation of the story! I want to see more adventures of Ben, Serena and Viena! =D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]