Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sewer Rat Racer

by Robber - Jam Entry

**** Sewer Rat Racer ****

"what really goes on, beneath the surface?"

I've spend most of competition time on the characters/level/modeling, GFX came out cool, but my aim was to dive deeper into programming in unity this LD..ahhwell next ludum, or hopefully as a game-update..I'm so happy it is playable and yes..finishable..

the soundtrack is a live recording/jam from me and a friend, for this i used my own live-software build in puredata..it's pretty nice & ghetto, but the track kinda takes off a bit later and time to do any post-editing was up..

hope you like it..

the windows build has some quality settings if it runs too slow in your browsers, my apoligies for heavy cpu-load, 72 hours is so little time, note all graphics/models and code were produced within ludum time, as i orginally wanted to enter the 48hour compo

gfx & code by Rob Bothof
music by Rob Bothof & Twan Bastiaanse

***** UPDATE *****

work on the postcompo game is still in progress! I was hoping to release if before the end of the judging, but there is no real playable version as of yet..
I've spend a lot of time on simulating water and new implementation and polishing of jetski controls and physics, jumping, crashing etc, where the rats are now themselves totally influenced by physics..I'm really happy with the result...next up on the list is the AI and ofcource the level..i'll keep you posted! thanx to everybody for playing and commenting..it's a huge inspiration for continuing work on this game..

***** UPDATE *****

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#77Humor(Jam)3.57
#102Theme(Jam)3.71
#195Fun(Jam)3.29
#245Graphics(Jam)3.70
#245Overall(Jam)3.40
#308Mood(Jam)3.18
#362Innovation(Jam)3.03
#470Audio(Jam)2.83

Comments

greysphere says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:21am

I like the fast paced,energetic music. The game was a bit chuggy on my end. Love the rats. There should be way more rats in games.

Elforama says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:06am

1st place! Nice graphics and physics. Good job guys.

acehk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:54am

Really cool use of the theme combined with polished visuals. The audio was pretty grating. Maybe it was bugged for me, but it was repeating the same little loop over and over. Still, really solid game overall.

olkeencole says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:35am

Very nice take on the theme. Really enjoyed the graphics. Controls could use some smoothing, but excellent job!

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:06am

For a game about sewers and rats, this was really cute! The way the jumps work was a bit janky, but in a fun way. Add some sound effects (rat squeaking on collisions?) and you'd be golden.

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:49am

Despite how buggy and finicky this is, it's still fun to play and I find the concept quite amusing.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:56am

Cool concept, nice modelling work. Love wall sliding (although it may not be the best tactic if you want to win :D). Maybe a little bit more variance in the sewer-look could be added, but overall i enjoyed playing!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:54am

I really enjoyed the game. :) A few powerups would have been sweet but it was really great. At the end I used the giant gears to back to the startline to start over without the other rats ;)

popogames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:59am

Liked the rats and their animations. Didn't really dig the music that much, after the drop its not clear where the track continues. Other then that fun game

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Definitely needs polishing, but overall great feel! Try adding thngs like powerups and more intricate levels.

Therrato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Looks really nice, the jumps did feel really out of place though, maybe it would have been better to go for something that looks like trash (or something you would find in a sewer)
would like restart functionality next time and maybe multiple laps (btw you can get back to the beginning if you keep going over the cogs

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Oh god I loved this. Rats on jetskis having a race. I mean, come on, it's basically genius. Thanks :)

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Super sweet dirty rat energy action racing game sexyness! 10/10 hearts. Loved it!

zkenshin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Fun game. Wasn't too big of a fan of the music, but did like the art. Would be neat to see it polished up. :)

Mase says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Appealing models and scenario. Gameplay was a little basic. Also, I was hoping that I'd end up in some special secret place when I rode the gear... alas.

Kuchalu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:51pm

I don't know why but the concept is hilarious and brilliant.

Beavl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Nice entry with polished graphics. Perhaps some crazy powerups could add some variety to the gameplay. Good job!

Maniulo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Nice game, I wish the rats could go faster.

v_n_j says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Good graphics, but there is in fact nothing to do. Making race somehow more dynamic would be great.

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Nice models and idea. Good job.

BoTreats says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:08pm

I really wanted to like this, but it's chugging to the point of being unplayable. Bummer! The gif on the front page had me very excited. Nice music, and hilarious concept. Wish it ran faster.

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:11pm

sorry to hear that, you could try the windows-standalone version it has quality settings

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:33pm

I've added a smaller web version - hope is it at least playable now

BoTreats says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:52pm

It might just be my machine, I tried the smaller version and the windows standalone (low res, fastest quality settings) and it's still chugging along. I have an i7, 16GB RAM and a GTX 780 so I'm not sure what's up. Thanks for the added effor though!

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:55pm

you're very welcome, thanx for trying my game!

radmars says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:06pm

XD just great.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Fantastic XD
Funniest game so far.
Sound got on my nerves abit but don't care because of how awesome this is

samooJAM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Second place 1:31
Jetski rats, hilarious! Quite nice controls but the water felt too rigid. Great use of the theme and nice audio and gfx.

davidc02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Hillarious.

TheGreenTie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Pretty fun idea! Controls are a bit off but the models and music paid off! :)

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Nice! I think the controls were a little looser than I expected (as in I sort of drifted more than expected), but pretty good!

I love how the other rats just hang around and do donuts on the finish line at the end :P

Note: Riding the cogs at the end may be hazardous to your health, but may also be hilarious.

Plus they take you back to start if you can survive.

Catman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Funny game and setting! Why are rats even racing? :D

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Neat! The physics is a bit sloppy at times, but generally good idea and execution :)

pighead10 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:55pm

1:32. Fun game. Could have done with some super fast speed boosts with motion blur!

anbreizh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Great idea, nice graphics. Need more levels

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Funny concept. Really nice graphics and decent gameplay. It'd be nice to see it expanded into something bigger. I feel like the start of the race didn't need to count down all the way from 10, though.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:09am

I like the game but the camera movement could do some work :D

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Overall it kind of lacks the feeling of going fast. Not really sure what, but that's essential to a racing game.

asotelo94 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:17am

Fun game! :) would have liked some sort of closure though. The concept of rats racing in jetskis cracks me up. XD Nice one. Cool graphics too.

_Rilem says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:02am

Wow this game is amazing! The rats are hilarious. :D If this had multiplayer and mario kart style powerups it would be legendary. xD

neekobus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:28pm

You definitely should replace the jet-ski by rat-traps !

JimmyBoh says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Very cool! The course needs a few more queues on where to go next, especially once it gets more complex.

Managore says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:12am

Really fun game! I would have loved to see even more levels!

cirolve says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:44am

The mouse models are really cool, though the physics seems a bit weird. Overall a great submission, though~!

MintArcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:09am

Awesome. This is brilliant game. Bit more polishing and this going to be a cool racing game.

Photon says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Even using the Windows version with graphics on "Fastest" it still lagged. :(

Based on what I did get to do, I think the actual jet-skiing could stand to be a little bit faster but otherwise this looks like you could really go some nice places with this (given you can figure out how to get the FPS up, of course.) Riding through the dark sewer backdrop on jetskis felt pretty cool.

Crowbeak says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:17am

The music started off good, but got on my nerves in the middle. The way it was repeating made it sound like it was glitching out. The controls were pretty good, though.

Robber says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:17am

thanx everybody for playing and commenting on my game, much appreciated, i'm working on the post game, already a lot of improvements..

zebi24 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Looks so good!! :) The game itself could use some improvements tho, especially with the camera (when you jump etc). Good job!

DavidErosa says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:57am

Great graphics! Maybe the controls could get some more love, but overall a fun game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]