Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Inner Demons

by voidqk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What lies beneath the surface of a troubled boy..?

--

Hint: There are two endings... one good, one bad...

Live-blog here: http://smashware.com/articles/2014/04/25/ludum-dare-29-live-blog

--

Selected quotes:

"Epic story filled with romance and mystery that will keep you on the edge of your seat..."
- Jacob123 (http://jacob16682.itch.io/tiler)

"i'm knockin every one you bitches out
KING KONG AINT GOT NOTHIN ON ME"
- __blunck

"I totally would have used the car"
- ReactorScram

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#63Mood3.88
#70Humor3.64
#101Innovation3.88
#116Overall3.76
#148Fun3.60
#149Audio3.50
#227Theme3.64
#551Graphics3.17

Comments

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:55pm

I did not see that coming o.O Really great take on the theme, awesome music and interesting mechanics paired with a nice easily digestible story! Awesome game!

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Picked the yoyo on my #FirstTry :D Love the creativity!

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Nice! Love the different weapon mechanics.

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Interesting game... I would have liked more options in the story part.

flashkick says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Great cutscenes and music. Nice use of point and click and action areas.

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Not sure if this game benefited from those awesome paint graphics but I really loved it! the mace is very hard to control tho

bentog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Awesome! The story is great, I like the gameplay variety, the music is also great! Solid entry!

bakpakin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:20am

Oh my god I killed my dad!!!!!!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:27am

OH NO!!!

MSaul says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:09am

Ahah the end is terrible. Greats mecanics overall. Good job !

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:05am

Feels really good slamming my mace into a bunch of demons.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:01am

This was a fun and innovative game. Well done! The only problem I had, was that I couldn't finish it, for some reason. But that's maybe just me.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:15am

AAAAAAAAAAAAH HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
This may be my favorite Ludum Dare game ever. I don't even know how to describe how amazing it is to me. It's just... perfect. I wish I could high five the fuck out of you right now. You should parade this through the streets and run for president.

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Don't know what the problem is. Hard mode was haaard though with the mace, I wasn't really sure how to activate red mode, but got through it nonetheless.

As soon as I saw the knife, I knew what was coming. It's nice that you added a "good" ending too.

Really nice animation, cool style, cool weapon range, cool story, great mood, audio was good, I feel like I've heard the instrument you used before, was it in Sytrus or something?

But yeah, great entry, thanks to SonnyBone for the recommendation.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:41pm

This was really cool, neat game mechanic, and an interesting take on the theme.

voidqk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:45pm

@Alex, yes, that's Sytrus :-), and Slayer for the bass. I think I used Harmour too, but I can't remember.

Thanks for the feedback everyone!

drnick says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:26am

Great job!

Your game had very very good storytelling. The ending particularly was surprising.

The music is good too, the main music fits the fighting well, and the ending theme reminds me of House's opening song for some reason.

The gameplay was fun and varied, which I always like in games, specially LD entries, even though I didn't know how to make the mace red.

I saw the source code and your custom language, and it's really awesome! You never expect such technical geniality in a LD game, specially with all those easy peasy engines people like to use in LD.

jtpup0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:35am

That was awesome!, the mace was difficult to sue at first but once I learned it those demons couldn't stand a chance.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:44am

Absolutely loved it!
Such great thought put into this, and the ending is just amazing and heartwarming.
Really enjoyed playing! Nice work!

javifugitivo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:24am

Great concept! I like the imagination of this boy!

hanoth says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:48am

This is really great. The storytelling is perfect.

May 2, 2014 @ 12:56am

The concept of picking a toy to be imagined as a weapon was really cool. It wouldn't have been feasible during the competition but it would be neat if you had choices and each weapon had a different strategy to use. Nice twist on the two endings.

May 2, 2014 @ 12:57am

Letting her son sleep with a kitchen knife. What.

Fun game. Reminds me of Samurai Slice. And good trap!

Loneshark says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:00am

The knife was kind of a give-away, but it was a pretty cool interactive narrative.


I played normal mode in Firefox and then Hard mode in Chrome. I could see no difference if that is of any help.

Loneshark says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:02am

The knife was kind of a give-away, but it was a pretty cool interactive narrative.


I played normal mode in Firefox and then hard mode in Chrome. I could see no difference myself, so I would say you can play in Firefox as well.

May 3, 2014 @ 1:16am

I saw both endings. The bad one is reaaaaally bad. Liked how you did three different mini games and tied them together with a nice narrative. Only thing I disliked were the buttons in text boxes. Why not just allow to click anywhere?

v3games says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Awesome game. I didn't see the twist coming. Everything came together nicely to make a good short experience. The only gameplay issue I have is that the ball and chain didn't work as expected and took a bit to learn. But well done overall.

ActionRemix says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:45am

You fooled us all.

Managore says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:22am

This is fantastic! The moment I saw the knife on the table I started getting really concerned. Overall, very well done!

lekochen says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:14am

Spotted your avatar on the comments area of someone's entry so come to say hi :) I like how you connect a thought-provoking story with various mini games. Well done!

rincewind_cz says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Gameplay is bit flat, but the intro really got me! Interesting art style and concept too. Music becomes repetitive too fast, but it's not too annoying. Really good job on the humorous side :-)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]