Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Birdfish

by Dramentiaras - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my entry for the 29:th Ludum Dare.
I was only able to work on Saturday since I was busy the entirety of Sunday. Oh well, I hope you enjoy!

The game is about you, the Birdfish. You're the last of your
race and have to survive for as long as possible, while taking down as many enemies that you can.
Keep an eye out on your water and oxygen!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#119Fun3.67
#136Humor3.33
#143Theme3.78
#163Innovation3.69
#258Overall3.50
#292Mood3.32
#525Graphics3.21
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

Dramentiaras says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Forgot to mention that there was a lot I didn't have time to do. Audio and polishing, for example.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:26am

I really like the core mechanic of this one. The animation on the birdfish is cool and I like the super attack bit (though the super attack should probably drain some more oxygen/water).

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:16pm

When I saw the title of your game, I thought : "Oh no, a Flappy-Bird-like", but in reality I had a lot of fun !I love the mecanics and the use of the theme. (I'm french, sorry for the english mistakes in English ^^)

Rahazan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Well done! I too was expecting a flappy bird game, and it was different from that, reminded me of the game I created for this game :). The mechanic is well thought out.

smikulcik says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Great idea. I like the flying fish. Pretty fun game.

pinion says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Liked alternating between animal forms and shooting different bullets.

Covenant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Very nice! With a bit more polish, this could be an excelente game (although it might have some issues with controls on that platform)

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Hi, would like to play this but the windows.exe crashes on open. Are you able to fix this?

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:11am

Wow, that was a really clever mechanic! I had trouble managing so many things at once, though. Keeping a lookout for the water and oxygen and shooting and dodging. Mainly used the x attack, z was kinda pointless. But it was fun!

Dramentiaras says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:57am

DesignerNap: Do you have Java installed? And if you do, which version are you using?

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:51pm

For some reason the water didn't display for me (running the JAR on OSX) so I found it a bit confusing. Soon got the hang of it though. Cool idea, nice take on the theme.

javierecf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:43pm

This is pretty funny, you can do a lot of comedy things with the idea of a form shifting animal, the graphics are nice and clean, the animation is short and accurate, maybe the gravity force between water and air could change, that would make things more interesting.

Such a weird and funny game, i liked it.

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:36pm

This game should definitely be made for mobile platforms, totally weird concept that works. Nice job!

Lucariatias says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:48pm

A very interesting mechanic.
Audio would have been nice, it adds a lot to a game.
Water didn't seem to render on OS X?
It became repetitive after a while, perhaps some sort of upgrade mechanic could have worked.

May 2, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Loved this game!! Great concept! I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series! http://youtu.be/0CjJInaKTls

zzForrest says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Really nice for 1 day! I like the idea of balancing the oxygen and water. It feels like the bird and fish sprites were flipped, but that might be intentional. It's a bit primitive and lacks sound and particles, but this can just be attributed to a lack of time. Very nice!

MintArcade says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:27am

Nice mechanistic, great use of surface theme.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]