Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Darkness

by Nichii - Jam Entry

A Shoot 'em Up game.

Synopsis:
The sun went out quicker than everyone expected. Mankind fled into the caves and built complexes and stayed near geothermal locations to survive. Journey through the life of Karen as her brother, Kevin gets kidnapped by triads within the complex beneath the surface fo the Earth. Will they survive this? Find out as you journey through a lost world that was rid of light.

Made by me (Nicholas Chan) and my artist friend, Isaac Soong :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#222Audio(Jam)3.40
#236Mood(Jam)3.36
#264Fun(Jam)3.18
#376Overall(Jam)3.20
#419Graphics(Jam)3.26
#487Humor(Jam)2.28
#546Theme(Jam)2.78
#644Innovation(Jam)2.39

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Colorful arts and a lot of levels make game intresting. But can you fix hit areas of enities. Becouse colliding with nothing annoying.

falconhy111 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:57am

Artwork and music are really nice, a nice storyline, what else? :3

(You know who i am)

Penguincat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:19am

The music was really great, and I liked the art a lot (both in the intro and in-game). The levels felt a bit too easy for me, apart from the final boss, but I was impressed by how much variety you put into the weapons and the enemies in so little time. Nice!

Andy Gainey says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:02am

Given the side view, it would have been much more intuitive if the hitbox didn't extend vertically to the very top of the avatar sprite, but was more a hitbox for her feet. Predicting where I could move was a bit tricky given what I saw on the screen versus when the character would stop, and walking through the first door surprised me because it happened well before I felt like I had actually reached the door.

There was also a brief moment of confusion at the beginning due to not realizing which keys did what, though that was quickly remedied with experimentation. I also didn't realize for a while that the second number on the ammo display was total bullets, so I was extra careful to conserve my ammo (which was admittedly just my own brain fart, and it did actually help with the boss fight).

Purely horizontal bullets felt like a painful limitation, as well as not being able to fire while running backwards.

Most enemies were too easy to exploit, especially since bullets wouldn't spawn unless the enemy was on screen.

The way the boss broke out of his vertical movement, got faster, and acquired bombs added some intensity to the fight, but the fight was mostly just tedious.

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:38pm

@Cant_In_The_Dark_Wood Thanks for the feedback, well we wish we could fix that, we tried and turns out it broke the entire game and there wasn't much time left to change everything so yeah :/ will try better next time though XD
@Falcon Thanks perhaps some critical feedback would be nice though XD
@Penguincat thanks, your game's story is awesome too XD
@Andy Thanks for the feedback, will do better next year ;)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Nice art style and audio!

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Wow... 11/10 almost shred a tear, very beautyfull and fantastic game!

TheMorfeus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Some info on controls would be nice. Also, missing walking animations. Overall - nice, but add animations next time.

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:08pm

@Sam and @Jack- Thanks XD Anything we can do to improve XD?

@TheMorfeus - Thanks for the feedback, we did plan to add animations during the polish stage but something went wrong and it got so buggy all of a sudden. We managed to fix the bugs but we didnt have time to add animations. Will try to do that next time XD

seantheartist says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Fun game to play! Love the music and level progression

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:18pm

@Sean- Thanks, any idea on how we should make our game better?

Cirrial says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Game was pretty easy, except for the bullet sponge boss. Nice music and sound design. The one level where you go to the left instead of right confused me a bit given how the game before didn't work like that. Nice progression with weapons and level design highlighting their strengths.

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:47pm

@Cirrial - Thanks for the feedback, we will try to balance out the difficulty next time :D

Hamsternator says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Impressive variation with the enemies and that final boss thingie =)
Would have been good to have some clearer audio feedback when it's time to reload and something extra to the gunplay wouldn't hurt either.

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:07pm

@Hamsternator - Thanks for the feedback, haha about that. You might have noticed the strange missing sounds for certain guns. We have been cracking our heads to make the sounds work but in the end they end up breaking the rest of the sound. Since there wasnt much time left, we decided to remove it. We believe this might have been a Game Maker bug since you have to delete and readd the objects to fix certain sounds. We will look in to this and be prepared for anymore bugs like this one day. Thanks for the feedback again XD.

Kwrky says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:18pm

I really liked this. I thought it was a bit samey until I realized it had all been a giant tutorial for the that last level and boss. The fight against Khan was genuinely stressful by the end when he starts dynamiting everything. Fun game.

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:19pm

@Kwrky Thanks,glad you noticed that haha

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Love the art! There were some funky invisible objects that were annoying. I think if you improve the AI and throw in some animation it would be very awesome!

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:29pm

@SoupWithBits- Thanks for the feedback, We will try that next time haha ;D

chagroo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:29pm

I like the use of artwork in music/sounds in this game. Also the wide range of attacks and the end boss was nice :)

FGM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Loved it. Awesome game with an emotional story. There's a bit of a glitch though where you keep enemies on the edge of the screen, and they can't fire at you.

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:53pm

@chagroo - Thanks! ;)

@FGM - It was not a glitch, but it's my fault that I made the bullet to destroy itself when it is out of the view.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:16pm

I love the pacing of the game and the music and sound. The gameplay and graphics are correct, but a few animations for movements would be awesome. I also died in the third room (I believe) and I received a Crash about create an explosion. But great entry!

Zolkren says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Cool graphics and gameplay.

Tosic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Its really fun but u have some mistakes (and so do i :D)

1)the beggining is like this is the 3d game with top graphics, but its not

2)Game has a story and last a while, make a pause or save

3)Bad Audio - it sounds like someone having astma when the bomb explodes

4)All the little gliches mentioned in comments

5)This one is just because my dissapointment about the fact you dont like my game, so... The story is a bit too sad for LD, but it would be a great game to sell :D

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:38pm

@Tosic

1,5) Is this even a problem? :P jk

I do also have time restraint, so not much features are implemented.

myachin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:28am

great! but i got some error:
___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Create Event
for object obj_explosion_0:

Push :: Execution Error - Variable Get 0.y(1, -1)
at gml_Object_obj_explosion_0_Create_0
############################################################################################

Nichii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:30am

@myachin - Thanks, we'll check it out :D

Nichii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:17pm

explosion crash should be fixed now ;)

jomomomo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Can't play windows games, any chance we could get a web version?

Nichii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:54pm

@jomomomo - Unfortunately, we can't make a web version as I am still using Game Maker Studio Standard version, which is only for exporting to Windows and Mac.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Nice game,though quite easy untill getting to the big boss. I like the music, it was into the game without getting irritating. At times I couldn't move, it was like having some obstacles I could not see! But I like it in general!!

Shide says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:51pm

It was rather interesring to play, but all the way through it's too easy and the final boss is just boring. Good variety of weapons and enemies, though

GlowingSnail says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Thanks for supporting arrows keys! Thanks for keeping the game easy! But ending is so sad ;_;

Moosefly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Good enemy and gun variation, but the A.I. was way too basic. Especially the grenadiers just kept killing themselves :D. Like others have mentioned, the collision boxes didn't feel good at all. Was also somewhat easy, but that's not necessarily a bad thing, considering I don't have to struggle while playing trough it. It was a satisfying experience, thanks.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

hbocao says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:56am

Awesome job, guys! The writing was cool and the mood was spot on. The music was great. I had a great fun playing it. Keep up the good work!

Zyrconium says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Lots of good design choices that could stand to be refined a little if you have more time.

Nice cutscenes, but they don't exactly mesh with the game, thematically or mechanically(serving ss exposition and conclusion with the game only as a mechanism to get between the two)

Bomb throwing guys have a tendency of killing themselves either before I see them, or as I'm walking up to them because their bombs bounce off me.

You can glitch the gun guys on the edge of the screen where you can shoot them but their bullets don't spawn. Not a large concern, but something to fix if you had had spare time :p.

And yeah, as others said, could do with some damage tuning, as the healthbar is irrelevant until the end of the game.

trueyomic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:50pm

There were some balance issues in the game (mostly too easy) and the boss had too much hp (not that it made him hard, just took too long to get him down). Still, a solid game.

csanyk says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:51am

Lengthy, boring cutscene to open the game. Character sprite isn't animated. Interior is supposed to be underground, but just looks like a generic building interior. Enemies barely damage you, and health powerups are overly generous.

meszka says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:32pm

The final boss seems very easy, but takes so long to kill, you end up running out of hp... very sneaky :P

frogcheese says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Nice, moodful little experience. It was a bit easy though, seeing as enemies did barely any damage and health powerups were very generous. Nice job on the cutscenes. :)

May 15, 2014 @ 5:42am

At first I was like, the gameplay is not bad, but the enemy is rather easy. Also there's a lot of healing items that make the game easier.

When I meet the boss, I was like, wow! This guy deserved to be called the boss. Died once because of explosion :v

After I finished the game, I was speechless. I never though that this game will have this kind of story. The scene were well planned, and it realy felt great (Not sure what word I must put here :v ). This game is one of the greatest game I've played in Ludum Dare 29.

Some feedback for ya.
- Add some walking animation.
- Balance the damage from bullet and explosion.
- Add some upgrading mechanics, like you can buy vest to get smaller damage or you add more guns in your arsenals.
- Reduce the ammount of bullets and health items in your game, and try make it dropable by the enemies. It'll make the player do some bullet and health managing.

That's all. Thanks for the great experience. :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]