Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Streets of Shooting

by Slashee the Cow - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UPDATE: Too late for the lighting fixes to make it into the compo version. But hopefully the post-compo version is bright enough (and that's all that's different, trust me, and if you don't trust me, check the source).
I STRONGLY SUGGEST YOU PLAY THE POST-COMPO VERSION. Not trying to cheat. Just want to save you some eye strain :).

ALSO: The Unity web player version won't look as good as the download version, so get the download version if you can.

I may have interpreted the theme a bit loosely here, but hey, this is what goes on in the city, beneath the surface of what ordinary people see. I'm assuming.

System Requirements: I've had trouble running it on low end machines (anything without a dedicated GPU) probably due to my overuse of lighting effects. If you are running on a low end machine, try using the lowest graphics setting, but it may not look correct (things may be too dark).

Controls:
Up/Down/Left/Right: Move
Left CTRL: Shoot
P: Pause
Escape: Exit (not in web version, there is no escape mwahahahaha)

Tips:
You have to be facing enemies to shoot at them. But if you are, it auto-targets them in a fairly wide arc.

A newly discovered part of physics (discovered during development) means bullets travel pretty slowly (for bullets). You can probably dodge them.

The bad guys don't understand the meaning of "friendly fire". Line them up and they WILL shoot each other in the back.

No, you can't get in a car and run them down. The cars have no wheels. Or engines. Or doors.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#367Mood3.20
#613Audio2.66
#729Graphics2.90
#849Humor2.00
#1081Fun2.35
#1136Overall2.50
#1162Innovation2.13
#1201Theme2.00
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

mtrc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:13am

Very, very dark! Was quite hard to see. But I really like the setting and the music was great too. Brighten it up a little bit maybe - I also would've loved mouse aim but maybe that makes it too easy/arcadelike for you?

Nice work!

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:14am

More lights please!
I like the interpretation of the theme and the atmosphere

Shire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:32am

I little hard to see, the art style was awesome and the depth perception thing was a cool touch

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:36am

I love the death sound :) And music is very hypnotizing.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Thanks for all the kind words!

Sorry if you're finding it too dark, it looks alright on my monitor (which obviously means my monitor is too bright :) ). I'd fix it, but I think there's only bug fixes allowed after the the time ends. I'd have tested it on other computers, but I ran out of time :(.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:28pm

So, as I put in the update at the top of the entry, the post-comp version is brighter, and that's the only difference. Please play that (although if you want to see what I managed strictly in the 48 hours, that's fine, just get ready to squint). I hope I'm not coming off desperate here.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45pm

i htink maybe you're aware of the lighting problem already, otherwise i think it would have been great fun. i like the 2d characters. reminded me a bit of syndicate (from the 90s).

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12pm

The people should be in 3D. But the idea with the grave stone is funny.

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:06pm

I don't know what it was, but this game was surprisingly fun. I see you fixed the lighting post compo, which is good. I thought the control scheme was a little odd, and the fire button was in an awkward spot.

The graphics and audio fit the mood.

I don't really see how this fit the theme, but I enjoyed it. Good job :)

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Really cool stuff, loved the audio, and the lighting was really nice. I liked the mix of 2d characters and a 3d setting. Gameplay was fun. With some more variety, this could be a solid top down action game!

I wanted the up key to move me up, and the down key to move me down, and not at diagonals. My brain had a hard time figuring it out.

Make your bullets bigger! Always bigger bullets!

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:03am

Great idea!!!

CMaster says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Nice graphics and audio for 48 hours work.

Like others say, has a real Syndicate feel.

kristof says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:08am

Interesting game. The movement mechanics are a bit strange and the gameplay is a bit dull. The graphics and audio is nice though.

fermenter says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:07pm

It was sooo dark. Cool graphics though. Good attempt. Gameplay was fairly stale.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]