Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Dome

by Shide - Jam Entry

Hi guys, we've finally made our game, not as big and clear as we wanted to, but we did it. We want to add some new features in post-LD version, but you could enjoy the first part of our game right now. We wanted to make an atmospheric mysterious adventure, but ended up with a kinda hardcore old-school platformer. Anyway, it's a game about a stranger of the desert, who came to an ancient abandoned oasis city, which supported the small towns of this area with water and cool hi-tech stuff, and our hero came to this city in a seek for treasure.

FAQ ==============
WASD / arrows - move
E - use
M - Mute Music
R - Restart level

* Don't use levers TWICE!
* strange anticubes allows you to double jump
* Sometimes the game seems to be unbeatable so i'll record a video of a gameplay later

POST LD ==========
It's still not a full game
There are only 1 rune out of 4 to collect so we ended the game very shortly, sorry about that.


Required XNA can be downloaded here:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#172Graphics(Jam)3.89
#173Audio(Jam)3.50
#219Mood(Jam)3.41
#463Overall(Jam)3.06
#551Theme(Jam)2.76
#568Innovation(Jam)2.59
#607Fun(Jam)2.47
#1823Coolness33%

Comments

Fox_in_sox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:16am

The game crashes for me,when I enter the blue gate, for some reason.:(

Shide says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:27am

Will fix it in few days

Dreii says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:35am

not sure if its a bug but i cant see any character and the screen freezes after moving the sand by pressinf d for a while :/ graphics and sounds look great though!

Voxnexus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:23am

Looks and sounds great but I can't seem to do anything but move left and right for a bit...

Shide says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:36pm

I've fixed gate crashes in post LD version

hbocao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Both versions keep crashing for me. The post-version is after some buildings in the sand and the compo version is after I activate a blue structure. I looks pretty! I want to play it! :)

runvs says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:48pm

This is awesome! Reminds me of Journey.

metjm says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:18pm

game crashes somewhere idk lol

Marcellus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:24pm

graphics are wonderfull

Tomski says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Nice game. Managed to get a lot in in 72 hours!

May 3, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Game crashes every time within the first few seconds in both your pre and post LD versions.

lajos says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:36pm

The art looks nice, but there is no character on screen, can only scroll the bg (sand dunes) left/right.

jsmars says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:48am

Awesome setup and presentation! Great music and mood! Sadly I couldn't figure out how to get farther after the water.. and after the bridge falls down, if you walk to the left you dissapear, I guess you fall off the level or something.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 2:13pm

nice!

TeamFlare says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:12pm

nice game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]