Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath a red sky

by allinlabs - Jam Entry

=== Intro ===

Your ship was attacked and had to do an emergency landing on Mars. Your are the last survivor and it's time to take back your ship !

Beneath a red sky is a top down shooter in a procedurally generated spaceship. Take your ship back, put out fire and be careful not to put too much holes in the hull, you'll need the darn ship to fly you back home !


=== How to play ===

Each game is different, as a new map is generated every time you play!

WASD to move
E or Space for the melee attack
Mouse to shoot
F to use the extinguisher (after picking it)


=== Tips ===

* the game is hard (kinda), take it slow and it'll be easier.
* if you see a fire and you have the extinguisher, put out the fire, that will save A LOT of your oxygen.
* save ammo as much as you can by using your melee attack (E / Space), especially on the melee enemies


=== Credits ===

Thanks to Furvent for his help and play testing all this week end!

Space Wind 01 & Space Wind 02 by Prosser, see licence : https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/100579483/LD29/_readme_and_license.txt

Made with love with Haxe, OpenFL & HaxePunk

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#54Fun(Jam)3.73
#82Overall(Jam)3.73
#171Mood(Jam)3.54
#249Humor(Jam)2.88
#334Audio(Jam)3.15
#352Innovation(Jam)3.05
#375Graphics(Jam)3.37
#631Theme(Jam)2.54

Comments

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:21am

Nice top-down shooter

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Good job with the hull damage mechanic, definitely made me consider my shots (even more than the limited ammo.)

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Amazing detail, from the cracks generated while shooting, to actually being on fire and not just taking damage. Very fun, good job :)

Tamik says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:53am

I like the extra mechanics that make it not just about getting through, but getting through more efficiently, nice way to encourage accuracy

camlang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Great game! All the juiciness is there

samooJAM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:02pm

I kept walking straight to the corners and get stuck for some reason, it's something about the perspective and wall color.
I like the challenge and traditional gameplay it has.

Tititesouris says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:08pm

It's a shame the game is really not related to the theme, if the back story was in an underground facility instead of a ship, it'd have made a lot more sense. Still, very good game, congrats.

Rad Star says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Lol, i got out off ammo even before meeting the first monster because of playing with the destructible wall. Liked the random world generation as well. Nice one!

Muciojad says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:31pm

"F*ck, a lot of mechanics done in 72h???" - I thought when I finished playing. It's good thought, game has a lot of diverse things to do - shooting, attacking, extingushing fire etc. Graphics is simple but suitable, and I like mood of narration at beginning :)

thinkster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Nice tight controls made for a fun game! Would like to see where you could take this, if the environment of the ship were prettier, would make the overall look really nice. Impressive amount if game made for 72 hours!

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Hmm, pretty nice game, but the grey wall is a little bit deceptive. Also, the hit box is a little bit too 'big'. All my bullets hit the wall easily in a narrow wall.

bendmorris says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:52am

I ran out of ammo and had to run into a room with like 6 aliens in it to get a key card. Really great job. Impressive how many different mechanics (destructible environment, oxygen, ammo, fire...) you were able to work in.

May 1, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Very fun game and nice gameplay mechanics. Kept getting stuck on the grey sections above corridors though.

Gap says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Amazing job!

StudioWolfox says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Nice level generator. Although at some point i think I couldn't win at all, because I couldn't find a fire extinguisher and the rest of the paths were blocked with fire. But perhaps I missed something.

Ken Ichi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Very addictive!

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Hi. Nice gun effect, tricky to aim (or is that me!), got fire extinguisher... died from many aliens.

anissen says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Really awesome game! I loved the feel of shooting and impact. I almost cleared out the entire base but ended up running out of ammo and getting butchered. Running low on ammo is quite spooky when surrounded by aliens ;)
It would be nice if the aliens were more intelligent or that the different aliens had different behaviours.
A absolutely love that aliens can catch on fire - nice detail! :D

Tomski says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Nice entry. The cracks that are left on the walls are a nice touch

rorycooke says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:19pm

really nice, I love the characters

Nezzhil says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Good one, very fun!

PriorBlue says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Nice pixel art characters.

Hemuuuli says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:40am

Great. I loved how the hull damaging made me consider my shots.

Pitoum says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Some nice ideas!
Just an advice. For a topdown like that be careful with your hitboxes for the walls. It's really frustrating when you seem to be blocked by something invisible. I should be able to get against the walls :)

jsmars says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Nice game! was a bit easy to get lost tho

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]