Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Necronomicon

by lowcade - Jam Entry

Necronomicon tell the story about Neko, the Guardian of Earth.
His work? Prevent the scariest creature in the universe is free and destroy everything.

Necronomicon is a Top-down game, where you will kill the minions preventing them that broken the altar. Meanwhile you need find the four Rings!

With the power you will put the huge monster down! (or die trying)

You can do that?
So play!

hint: When you are with the four rings, hit the altar

Extra: You can download the game poster here:
www.studiolomo.com.br/necronomicon/Poster.jpg

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#98Graphics(Jam)4.18
#181Overall(Jam)3.50
#182Audio(Jam)3.48
#230Mood(Jam)3.37
#246Fun(Jam)3.22
#268Humor(Jam)2.82
#519Innovation(Jam)2.68
#663Theme(Jam)2.42

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:29am

Hipster cat, crossed lava before it was cool.

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:33am

It's impressivelly done!

lowcade says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:36pm

We are fixing some bugs and graphic issues on Necronomicon.
Sorry for the inconvenience. ^^

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:56am

Loving the art style here. Cool game!

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:57am

Very well drawn! Audio wasn't too shabby either. You had two different sound effects for the sword, so you had the right idea, but you could have gone all out and had, like, EIGHT!

Weird collision detection though.

pichifino says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:59am

Love it

nimblegorilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:03am

The graphic style is really awesome. I am kind of confused about what to do. I wandered around for a few minutes and only ran into one bad guy. Then I guess I was walking on lava or something and died. Would definitely play more if there was something to do in the game.

petey123567 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:04am

Super pretty, but we walked around a long time before we encounter anything to attack - get to action quicker!

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:07am

Graphically really great! I was a little unclear what to do at first, but it straightened out. :)

conormn says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:07am

Absolutely love the typeface on the first screenshot with the sword. Is that a font or created from scratch?

taocayo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:14am

I was taken off guard by the 'hero'… Is that a chick in a skirt with a cat head? loved it!

Mase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:50am

The time limit is really annoying because it's hard to get back to the altar...

It's also not immediately clear where the rings are. After wandering around aimlessly a couple times I deduced from the map that they're in the corners.

Uhhh It's also not clear enough that the lava is traversable via the floating rocks. Maybe if they were more closely spaced.

That said... the graphics and scenario are pretty appealing and it was fun getting new powers. I got 3 out of 4 rings... (couldn't figure out the lava area in time...) after restarting twice.

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Love the art, controls are quite weird though, got really confused on what to do, I was looking for rings then I would lose the altar... didn't really enjoy it =x

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:26am

Beautiful art! It's got a style a bit like the games from the Homestuck comment. Love that armless jostle. That said, I played a couple of times and both times, even with coming back to the altar pretty frequently and spamming my speed potions (and having most of the items equipped), there was an issue with the altar being too mucked up while I was gone, with no way to protect or restore it. I never lost a life or much HP, but it was just about impossible to keep that altar protected. So, perhaps a little bit more balance is in order.

Thanks! The game was cute and fun to play.

mcapraro says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:23am

really superb graphics and style, well done!

flrn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:27am

Overall I enjoyed the game's sound and mood and visuals, but had a hard time with the altar being attacked while I was away. I managed OK for the 3 first rings, but getting the fourth one was too difficult because of the altar being attacked. If for instance it'd just make me lose a life instead of giving me a game-over it'd be a more rewarding experience I think

nicolashognon says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:04am

I like the visual/mood of this game.

lukepilgrim says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:21am

the style is very cool! but I'm not sure if I understood what to do. I wandered around for a long time, suddenly I was somewhere else ( I think I touched lava)

Pixlexia says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:43am

Scary that it's pretty similar to our game

Delca says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:38am

Excellent game, I loved it! Controls were good (although I got stuck in a rock once), graphics, audio and 'story' too.
Congratulations!

local minimum says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:56am

I had fun time above the surface though I never found a shield (didn't much seem to need one).

The boss fight needed more explaining. It took me some hits to realize it was hold D to charge and release D to do what exactly? I didn't figure out what to hit unfortunately. Which was a bit of a bummer.

Nice game otherwise. Smooth graphics and fun tower defense. I usually don't like them much at all, but this was good.

PriorBlue says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Great art style, but i don't know how to win against the endboss ^^'.

Yword says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:42pm

The graphics is pretty cool! Maybe you can add some puzzle mechanics to make it more challenging.

Catman says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Nice graphics, and I love cats as protagonists! The boss fight was quite cool too, with all that flying around ahah! :D

GrooveMan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Oh man, the graphical style and dynamic music were awesome. Sometimes the attack range was a bit fiddly, but nothing insurmountable. More games in future should star hipster cat warriors.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Absolutely lovely visuals! cute and funny! Congratulation with this entry!

May 3, 2014 @ 8:01am

Graphics and audio were nice. Appreciated the mini map. Solid entry. Would keep working on it and polishing.

>>The time limit is really annoying because it's hard to get back to the altar...

I felt that way too.

jujule says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:27pm

I'm impressed at the amount of work you managed to pull out. Great. Good entry but the controls need a little bit more polish, I think.

tehryanx says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:25pm

awesome artwork!

GFM says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:17pm

This game looks really good and was fun... but it could be way better.
It should had been possible to see enemies on the map (if not always, at least for some time after using a item) and you should be able to attack in any of the eight possible directions.
Oh, but the audio was great! Cross fading between the songs was a great idea! :)

May 7, 2014 @ 9:44am

Great art and audio! Feels like a really solid and complete game. Amazing work indeed. The order you get the rings affects difficulty though. In my first try I left the top right one for last and couldn't event save the altar. The following attempt I reversed the order and breezed through the enemies dashing like crazy :P

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:36am

GREAAAAT!! The boss was hard, I went through 4 or 5 lives and didn't manage to beat it :/ I love how the music changes based on where you are in the game, but maintains the same motif. The graphics are great. It feels very Zelda inspired in a good way, and lol we both put a "dangerous to go alone" joke in our games :)

BadPaul34 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Graphics and audio are excellent. Maybe the game play should need a little more dynamism. Anyway that's a great game!

Striwx says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 11:16pm

I love the cat design, the graphics were cool. But i find the controls not so fun, except for the boss. The game really need a checkpoint for the boss, this is boring to restart the research part. Music and mood were cool too !

Anoarith says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 3:16am

Really nice game ! Reminds me of Megaman game design ;)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]