Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

SunkenTreasure

by bakpakin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Behold my Masterpiece of 48 hours! Sunken Treasure!

The point of the game is to salvage some treasure at the bottom of the
an ocean, full of caves and hostile rainbow fish and hostile rainbow jellyfish and inexplicable marioesque coins. You swim around at ridiculous speeds collecting coins to buy scuba tanks, which allow you to stay under water longer without drowning. You can buy the scuba tanks and first aid packs at the boat on the surface. You win the game when you find the sunken treasure at the bottom of the ocean and bring it back to the boat.

As this is my second ludum dare, I'm quite happy with how my game turned out.
I used my own code base in Java, which I forgot to post on the site (oops), that definitely helped. Its an Entity component based framework, with some code to make things like loading images easier. As I made my game, I had to make only a couple tiny changes to my engine, which makes me pretty happy. Anyway, enjoy the game. I didn't really have time to play test it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#178Theme3.71
#281Fun3.38
#348Overall3.40
#419Audio2.97
#431Mood3.13
#489Graphics3.26
#613Innovation2.97
#639Humor2.32

Comments

Custard Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:17pm

The graphics put me off a bit at first, but stepping back from that, the game actually has a lot of content. The music is great, the exploration is great, there is a lot of variety, and upgrades are fun. Great game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Nice game! I really liked the graphics and gameplay!
The controlls felt a bit odd, I would've preferred up to move forward and left/right to rotate, but that might just be me.
Good job! :)

Logan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:26pm

It's got a nice feel to it. The controls felt really smooth once I got used to them, and the music bits added to the atmosphere.
I think I would have liked some indication of how many air tanks I've bought (they felt like they were doing something, but it was kinda hard to judge), and a bit of an invulnerability period would have been nice (the first time playing, I was going back to the surface with the treasure when I got pinned between a fish and a jellyfish. Instant death sentence), but otherwise no complaints.

Also, I found it amusing how you could by first aid kits to raise your health above its original amount. Does he use them preemptively, or does he start the game wounded?

That, and jellyfish jumping playfully out of the surface.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Nice graphical style. The gameplay is fun, but a little challenging controls. Sound is good.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Really quite enjoyed this one. Fun to play and nicely fitting the theme.

Boodog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Cool! I enjoyed it! Nice work ;)

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Controls too a bit to get used to. Enjoyed the audio, good job!

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Great Job! Loved it but as some other people have said the controls are a bit weird. Overall still loved it!

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Nice swimming mechanics. Music took about a minute to start playing, not sure if it's intentional or a bug.

Tomski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Nice game with fun graphics. controls were a little off though

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:18pm

I like the "drawing" style of the graphics.

voidqk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:23pm

dude, this game was pretty fun! nice controls... good music too.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:28am

The mental image of my guy leaping out of the water like he was doing made me laugh. fun concept, didn't run across any bugs. well done

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:36am

Very good game, real exploration mecanics. The controls are hard but great for that game. The death by being stuck against a rock by a jellyfish is quite frustrating though.

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Great game! It took me a minute to get accustomed to the control but then it was super fun. It took me 3 or 4 tries but I got the treasure. It was really tense when I found it and got lost heading back. Nice art style too. :)

Shinxs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Liek the game, its quite hard to control the character. Great game

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:29pm

This is a really solid game, the physics and controls felt great.

Reinkout says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:06am

Thanks for this one! Enjoyed it.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]