Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Darkness Looms

by TeamOmni - Jam Entry

Don't let the darkness deter you from your journey...beneath the surface.

Build and test your own and other peoples levels in the editor, from the options menu.

Arrow keys to move.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#49Mood(Jam)4.00
#60Audio(Jam)3.90
#231Fun(Jam)3.24
#238Graphics(Jam)3.71
#297Overall(Jam)3.33
#326Innovation(Jam)3.10
#444Theme(Jam)3.00
#1895Coolness28%

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:38am

Nice game and nice graphics!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:42am

Nice atmosphere here. I liked the mechanic too, and the music was good and had that 'thinking' vibe to it. Really nice one, good job!

Snoother says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Jesus, that shit was moody. Loved the music and graphics and the slick, pro interface.

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:05pm

I love the music, atmosphere and interface of this game, however I don't understand how to play. I seem to only be able to move flames up and down and nothing else really happens. Is there a bug in the web version? I don't have windows, so can't really tell if they are different. Please, I'd love to play this game, and I'll wait to rate it in case you fix the web version. Tweet me at @NoorStudios if you do!

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Ok, After instruction I found the little girl in the dark (darkness really looms!). I like the concept a lot, but maybe just a little more light at least around the flames? Great work though.

RPWhitaker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:42pm

definitely nailed mood! was a little *too* dark on my monitor though.

NicoM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:18am

Great game! very moody, and a very interesting main mechanic, great job:)

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Nice game. I found it a bit too hard, but that's only me. The graphics really support the gameplay and the music is perfect for this type of game!

metkis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Lovely atmosphere, enjoyed it a lot!

May 4, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Great atmosphere combined with the music. Good work. :)

PIXEL^3 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:50am

Really nice mood going on here. I haven't tried it yet but it's interesting to see a level designer too. I felt like the game was punishing though, taking a wrong turn was practically a death sentence and it was really hard to read the player. I understand that darkness is a hard mechanic to work with though and I admire your attempt, but I think the mechanic needs to be either heavily refined or rethought altogether.

~AlucardX60

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]