Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath - Look Out!

by lkpridgeon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A few issues here and there. But Playable...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#902Graphics2.62
#921Theme2.77
#981Humor1.80
#997Mood2.45
#1081Fun2.35
#1148Overall2.48
#1166Innovation2.12
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

Agreon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:39pm

The Character Editor is a really cool idea!
Am i to dumb or is it impossible to pass the spikes? :D
Your game was quite fun, some bugs, but playable ;)

lkpridgeon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Character creation was implemented in full but was causing some issues so I paused the event

rogberth says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Hmm sadly there is no much to play. Or at least I die always haha

Skipi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Kind of wish when you die, you just respawn back at the beginning. Kind of tedious to have to keep clicking new game. :P

GJ, though. It's fun to play. ^_^

hnjslater says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Ok but I would've done the character creation after you got everything else working! The collision detection was a bit flaky

Gazok says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:45pm

I liked that there was a character editor. I couldn't tell if "long hair" was meant to be female.

Almost says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:51pm

I feel that slopes should not exist if I cannot walk up them.

I should be able to restart with the same character without mouse input any time I die (without any input, even)

the 1st pit kills me and the 2nd one is necessary to fall in, which seems a bit odd. The player also collides with corners a bit strangely sometimes.

There is also a point where the ground is the same color as the background and I walk off a ledge because I can't tell that it stops. This is sort of ok if I can instantly restart at a checkpoint a little bit earlier, but going back to a new game menu and the start of the game makes any "unfair" seeming death feel particularly frustrating.

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:38am

hmm, not sure how to get past the spikes, nice job making a character creator even if it wasn't fully implemented :)

Muciojad says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Not bad, but I think there should be "2-keys handling" or something. I died always because I can't jump and run at the same time, I had to first jump and after try to move in air. Anyway, quite good like 48 hours.

Photon says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Hmm... this needs more work in my opinion. It seems weird that some black tiles are solid and other aren't (unless I'm missing something.) Otherwise, it feels like I'm supposed to just do generic run and jump and hope I went the right way or something.

DesignerNap says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Like the creator but it didn't seem to affect the character I played as? Nice work though.

ceosol says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:10am

Is the long jump possible? I was thinking about trying to land in different spots since the floor is invisible, but gave up.

abayb says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:09am

Good graphics and awesome Character creator. Pretty mediocre game play though. You had things that nobody could get on the first try, like the button that causes the spikes to come at you. This is a good game mechanic if people know about it, but because you didn't include a tutorial or something, it was a little annoying.

jsmars says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:32am

Background was a bit too dark to see the holes in the ground, great start tho! :)

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:50am

such an unforgiving game should not go back to the title screen if you die!!

i like the idea but going through the menu again and again is annoying. as with many ludum dare games, the addition of even basic audio would have added a lot!

lkpridgeon says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Yeah just ran out of time for music I had one track for it but was experiencing HTML-5 Issues so spent a hour or 2 fixing that nubbins but did not release that version in the end... Also I was worried about my ftp server having a few issues as the host puts it. It was running slow for a week.

lkpridgeon says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:41pm

This is not a sob story! ^^^^^^ Please rate on your views..

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]