Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Money Beneath Our Ground

by João Kucera - Jam Entry

"The Money Beneath Our Ground" is a drag and drop game about use what is provided by ground to make money and buy goods.

CONTROLS:
- Left mouse button.

RULES:
1. Use items and seeds to plant vegetables;
2. Reap vegetables and put inside a cauldron to cook;
3. Wait the baked and make money;
4. Run against the time to buy the goods challenged in each level.

UPDATE (new features):
- A reload button when is playing some level;
- Other way to show how to play;

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#272Graphics(Jam)3.63
#295Audio(Jam)3.22
#415Innovation(Jam)2.90
#418Overall(Jam)3.13
#448Fun(Jam)2.86
#497Mood(Jam)2.84
#508Humor(Jam)2.22
#573Theme(Jam)2.70

Comments

Dooleus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:49pm

It says press any key to start, but no key (including the mouse) works.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Good graphics, and original gamePlay!

colludium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Original and fun.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Very easy to break, but fun.. I never could afford the chicken

stigmawall says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:48am

FarmVille style. Like the music and the graphics are very good too.

michelfontes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:56am

Awesome gameplay and very adictive.

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:50am

Kind of got stuck running out of money, but it's a cool concept and it looks really nice!

KumoKairo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:00am

Skipped tips for the first time, had too look them again to understand how to play, hehe. Nice game though!

Just Tom says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:11am

Timer management is a tricky one to balance, but I could feel it getting there in spots. When the game gets going, it's quite addictive, trying to constantly maximise your efficiency.

The farming theme works well with okay with Beneath the Surface, but doesn't invoke much beyond. This is fine for me, the piece works well as a whole.

The art, while static, is well drawn and a pleasure to look at.

If I were to give my piece moving on, get people to play the heck out of it and nail that pacing. When it works, it really works and the Garden Theming creates this wonderful Zen like game play. I think it would be excellent on Mobile Devices.

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:15am

I BOUGHT A CHICKEN! Very nice idea and good development. I have only one note: although the song was quite nice, it often played on top of a previously one for me =/

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:23pm

beautiful

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Finally got the chicken! Pretty neat game, in the title screen it should be "Drag and drop"

Candyhandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Good graphics. Where is my chicken ?

Doubstract says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:27pm

I love games like that!

popogames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Fun concept, really addictive. Appalling English though :), maybe have somebody spell check for you next time.

SFBTom says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:51pm

OK, once I got the hang of timing the drags, it got really fun really fast. Great little time-management game!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Nice idea, I like your interpretation of the theme :) Addictive gameplay :D

martinysa0311 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:59pm

good graphics and innovative gameplay.

porglezomp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:35pm

This game feels fully finished.

YOU GOTTA MAKE IT F2P MAN I GOTS TO PAY DE MONEYS FOR CHICKEN. (Just kidding, nice game.)

DNA Yarn says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:05am

Got a chicken after a few minutes. Didn't have much incentive to keep going because you start from scratch again.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:31am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Note--I'm only reviewing based on the first level, since I got kind of bored. I think this is a really neat idea, somewhat hurt by the lack of animations to show incompleted actions where you currently have a countdown (but that's to be expected in a jam!). Also, explaining based on colors, rather than going to each piece of information where it is on the screen and explaining how it works, made it hard to take things in.

If you do a good job conveying your concept early on, you can add some pressure in the first level so that it will be a challenge, and more fun for everyone. Still, the concept is really nice and I wish more games would do a growing theme.

eufrik says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:34am

It's addicting. Nice game.

miwuc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:47am

Fun concept and pretty addictive. Too bad it's so simple. The winning strategy is obvious: just keep planting the most valuable vegetable you can afford (so it quickly boils down to how fast you can plant tomatos) and by the stuff you're supposed to buy right at the end. Also all the levels are pretty much all identical. Would be nice to have things like power ups to make the game more interesting. Still, I enjoyed playing it, and the art and music are good, well done :)

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:19am

Original piece of game. After a few minutes it became a tomato-simulator though

Chinchilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:28am

Nice graphics and sound, though growth animations would be awesome. The main challenge at the moment seems to be not avoiding spending too much to be able to continue growing crops, which I'm not 100% convinced is all that fun. Maybe needs a longer chain of production where you need to carefully balance supplies along the way?

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:27am

Very nice Graphics and Idea. A very solid implementation, but too repetitive for me. In Level 2 I lost interest because no new elements where introduced. Maybe block some of the vegetables in the first levels to make it more interesting to progress.

recursor says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Very nice graphics and music. At first, the game play was a bit confusing, but I eventually got the hang of it. It's a nice little resource management game that makes you focus more on later levels. Good game.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:15pm

I liked that it had a lot of items, nice game.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Great job. I think to fix what most people are talking about, you could double the time limit and then make more valuable vegetables take longer than others. I gave you some humor stars because of the smiling banana.

hbocao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Fun idea! The controls need some adjustments, I was tired of drag and dropping too much hehe Also the collision on the seed place was kinda off. Sometimes I dragged over and it didn't activated. Maybe I'm a idiot. hehe The graphics are very beautiful! Well done!

HeroesGrave says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:55pm

I'm on Linux, so Unity webplayer doesn't work, but you have very nice graphics.

Just letting you know that my game Shadows Below has a Windows build out if you would like to try it (you commented asking for one so I assume you do).

I apologise for plugging it here, but this is the only reliable way to contact you.

May 4, 2014 @ 5:17am

Once I got the hang of the controls, I thought this was a great game. Good work!

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:33am

Welp, I did it, I am the king of stubborn people, I beat all 10 levels.

The good: It's a game that looks great, and sounds good. It's also pretty fun for the first 5 minutes.

The bad: The gameplay does not change after 5 minutes, the cauldron is the bottleneck, you can't upgrade anything. You could have had the various items upgradable, so say you get 100 money and you can spend it to make carrots worth more, or the cauldron run faster or the items automatically go to the cauldron, or a lot of stuff...

I feel bad because it's a well made game that I don't want to judge harshly. But... that steam key was calling for me, and my OCD and other stuff demanded that I finish (I've finished pretty much every LD29 game I've played).

And that's the problem with this game. If you want to beat all 10 levels, the way to progress will not change, you get a net gain of somewhere like 1-2 money per second if you are doing everything right...

...The final level requires you to get 2300 to buy everything to win... so under the best case that's 1150 seconds, or 19minutes 10 seconds of doing the exact same 3 steps over and over and over again... and the levels leading up to it aren't much better. Basically to beat this game completely you must spend over 3 hours doing the exact same thing over and over...

I understand that you like your game, you want people to play it all, and I want to play all of people's games, but putting this kind of goal for the game is just, kinda insane.

You have talent in design, coding, and everything the only thing this game lacked was common sense when it comes to what you expect of the player. Have you played your game in it's entirety? I doubt it, and playing one's own game from start to finish is important. VERY important. I've played my own game from start to finish several times, and it helps because you find out "oh this part drags" or whatever. You can't judge if something is going to be fun or frustrating without giving it the full try, and I believe that had you played your game from start to finish (not bug testing in developer mode where everything is worth 50x or something) if you had played it all the way through you would have changed things to make the 10 level goal way less insane.

I guess I'm to blame, I made myself play this all the way through, there are endless games here at LD29 that if I had spent over 3 hours playing them I would hate them so much more than this game. I don't think this game is a bad game at all, but the suggestion that we are supposed to play all 10 levels is... insane.

I feel like I'm coming off harshly, I'm not trying to, but this is a decent 3-5 minute game, it is (like most LD29 games) a lousy 3+ hour game (simply because it doesn't change). If the theme of this ludum dare was "psychological breakdown" or something I would think this entry is brilliant. As it is there is nothing at all bad about this game aside from the suggestion that we play as much as you expected people to play.

So, in the future, when you make games, you don't have to do much as far as improving your coding or game design, but you must play your own game all the way through and then take that playthrough and learn from it, and if you can't make it all the way through your own game learn from that too.

Anyway, you should probably change your description so nobody else dares play to the end to get a steam code. And again I don't want to discourage you, because you only made 1 mistake which was to ask an unrealistic goal of the player, and my mistake was dedicating myself to achieving it.

It's going to be weird moving on from this game, I've spent so long making those damn tomatoes, I'm not sure I remember what it is to be alive anymore... I'm not sure I remember anything, but tomatoes... tomatoes, it's all I know now... :P

TobiasW says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:49pm

I played until two chickens and a piggy. I like how you're getting a flow over time there, constantly using the tools to process the ground. It feels a bit samey over time though, especially considering that only tomatoes are worth your time and the cauldron is to slow to warrant the second irrigator. It was fun while it lasted though, and I like the art a lot!

PS: A tip for the "tutorial" screen! It was great to choose colors to differentate - maybe the text lines could have the same colors as their element too instead of being white.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]