Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Blockham's Sandpit

by Eskoala - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The aim of the game is to dig to find lost treasures. Move with the arrow keys and dig with spacebar.

You may hear a beep - this indicates that you are close to a treasure. Depth is a factor in this. It doesn't turn off when you find it! Sorry. You can play without sound, it'll take you longer to find things but you can always make pretty pictures in the sand as you go. Or, just wildly mash the buttons until something turns up.

WINDOWS: Packaged. Download linked zip, extract zip somewhere, run BlockhamsSandpit.exe.

OTHER PLATFORMS: no package yet, but you can d/l the source, for which you need Python 3.3 and pygame 1.9.2. puzzhack.py is the file to run.

Sounds are not my own, all are creative commons and the filenames tell you who created them, they're from Freesound.org. All "artwork" is my own.

I have used a basic template and a sprite_sheet from programarcadegames.org - they're very basic additions to save me doing the maths for sprite grabbing and to give me some structure at the start.

Consider everything CC0 creative commons.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#537Theme3.29
#1005Innovation2.44
#1183Mood1.93
#1184Fun2.06
#1188Overall2.37
#1223Graphics1.83
#1851Coolness32%

Comments

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Really fun tiny game. My only problem was that it was, well.. tiny on my monitor, had to resort to the magnifier ease-of-use tool :)

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:00pm

I had fun drawing a penis in the sand but that's about it.
It looks a bit like a pocketstation version of "smash the space key 5000 times"

Newt_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Hooray, I found a horcrux!
This game was pretty similar to mine, in the aspect that the game was about digging up tiles for treasure. I have two suggestions, though:
1)Unique item textures, from what I've seen every treasure is just a star
2)The beeps seemed kind of random. Maybe that was intentional, but I had multiple beeps on places where there was no treasure

elpaulo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Yaaaa ha haaaa ! I win :)

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:53pm

The game just boiled down to pressing the spacebar. I feel if it had more game mechanics it would be more engaging.

MonsieurS says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Liked it. The beep is on / off, isn't it? I would have loved to have it varying volume or something to make it easier to find things. :)

Almost says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:42pm

The player teleports a bit if you give a move command before the previous one finishes. Your post has the controls at the end of the line that starts with "The aim of the game..." so I initially missed it and had no idea how to interact with the game.

I only found one treasure, I guess I was supposed to go deeper although I dug every tile at least twice. Going for additional laps didn't seem too worthwhile.

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:59am

Great idea!!!

May 15, 2014 @ 5:28pm

You're not allowed to use Freesound effects for the compo, only self-produced sounds made during the jam. No one really cares, but just a heads up for next time

Nice idea, it just needed some fun challenge. I think it took too long for the beep to appear.

hnjslater says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:50am

Great idea, it just needed more of a game! Funny though

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]