Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sub Rosa

by popogames - Jam Entry

In Sub Rosa evil wears the skin of innocence. It is your job as a vampire hunter to find out what lies beneath the surface. Use your wits and skill to deduct which of the innocent looking villagers is actually a vampire.

Music:
Vampire Masquerade by LadyArsenic
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/571997

Dracula by shadow6nothing9
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/437947

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#119Audio(Jam)3.68
#143Graphics(Jam)4.00
#154Mood(Jam)3.57
#228Innovation(Jam)3.32
#273Overall(Jam)3.36
#292Fun(Jam)3.13
#355Humor(Jam)2.61
#364Theme(Jam)3.17

Comments

cirpig29 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Absolutely great! There are things that could be better - but not within 72 hours!

spotco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:56am

Thought it was gonna be an action game based on the title menu!
Really ambitious art-wise, though sad there wasn't any reward for finding the vampire.

Crabman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Very nice!

Doubstract says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Great gameplay! Super atmosphere!

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Nicely done. I must have executed at least a dozen villagers before I found the vampire.

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:53pm

I killed the right guy on the first try out of pure luck. :D

The only downside I found:
Space then mouse click to start and E to talk and then mouse click to kill looks dumb, keyboard only controls could have fit better.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:57pm

I think the game is pretty cool, however I don't think it's that much "fun". It could use some more mechanics :p

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:10pm

I found this bastard) Great game.

dook says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Neat, athmospheric game. I managed to find the guy pretty quickly, but I'm not sure if it was mostly luck :P

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Ooh, I love the gothic style of this (though the hero feels a tad out of place with his superhero physique and goofy run). Props for taking on a mystery game, too.

petey123567 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:09am

People in this town sure keep a lot of dairies! :)

Moosefly says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:07am

Yay, managed to slay the vampire on my first try. Luck might have been involved though. Graphics and audio (Vampire Masquerade <3) created an awesome mood, lolled at the player character and the run animation after that menu super cool menu though. I hope you could've made the gameplay more interesting (more clues and more complex clues etc.), but it's decent considering the time limit. I guess I'll also have to mention the Skyrim reference since no one else has already done so :P.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

VictoryGarden says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:04am

A funny sort of take on the theme! I unfortunately didn't enjoy myself too much; what's pleasurable in gothic literature is the mood, right? And though you did an absolutely amazing job getting that down for the title screen, I had a hard time connecting that with my goofy, gray-clad character in-game. In-game music would have helped rather a lot, too, and I agree with the comments on the controls.

The idea, though, and the general character design were quite good; I liked that it was procedurally generated so that I could play a few times after beating it, and the strategy changed some as well.

Thanks for the game!

DavidErosa says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:33pm

NIce one. I found the vampire at the first attempt, but I'm convinced it was mostly luck :)

lasagnegames says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:47am

I loved the "whodunit" concept, and i think you could do a great game by working a bit more on the hint mechanics

cageinabird says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 4:35pm

I got the vampire on the first try. Hurrah!

This could work well with the hidden vampire and some villagers muddying the waters to make the puzzle-solving a bit deeper, but it was solvable without guessing (something that might not be true about my game).

Also, that fog was cheap but effective - I thought it was a fancy particle effect at first, and I only realised it was just a plane when I stopped to observe it. :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]