Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Core

by Pickle - Jam Entry

A, D, left, and right arrow keys move the drill left and right respectively. S and down arrow moves the drill downwards. Space bar fires a laser beam.

The white marble and semi-molten rock can only be destroyed using the laser.

Don't let your drill overheat or you'll explode!

Story:
Some time in the near future…

Humanities endless pollution of the planet has become so bad The core has become unstable and is causing Earth's magnetosphere to fail, allowing deadly radiation to bombard Earth's inhabitants. A team of drillers and geologists have been selected to drill to the core to use a device designed to stabilize the core before the magnetosphere fails.

PS. push "P" to jump to the bottom for a fast ending.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#247Theme(Jam)3.41
#436Humor(Jam)2.41
#476Audio(Jam)2.80
#539Graphics(Jam)2.93
#601Innovation(Jam)2.50
#667Mood(Jam)2.38
#687Overall(Jam)2.52
#703Fun(Jam)2.15
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:18am

we saved the world!! okay, I cheated and pressed P to skip to the ending :) Found it a bit tedious to play, not a lot happens except the engine overheating if you aren't careful. Feels like a great start of a game.

FatJoe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Was a bit too long with very few variations in gameplay, so I ended up cheating as well, hehe :)
Good job judging by the time frame!

uRLgR3y says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:48pm

We saved the world!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:49pm

It needs more of a point than just digging down.

Gins says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Maybe I missed something but if you just press down the drill goes down and you win eventually :o
It has potential though, I can see the heating mechanic explored for more fun :)

legendpaul says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Really liked the sounds and music, graphics are nice, just needs more fun/ playability

Tuism says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:53pm

I'm sorry, I don't get the point of the game :/ the graphics and the premise showed promise, but there was no variance on the way down, there's no point to drill anywhere but down, then I couldn't even get through the granite/white rocks bit at all.

The P button didn't "skip", it just showed you something you can't get to otherwise :/

Pickle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:19am

"The white marble and semi-molten rock can only be destroyed using the laser." And "P" teleports you next to the goal.
And yeah, I understood that the game lacks variety, but I didn't really know how to generate random maps. But I do plan to explore how to that, so I'll know how for the next LD.

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:54am

Would benefit a lot from some randomizing of the ores/material

StencylTuo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:57am

FYI, it seems like Chrome can only play the game once. I used P to fast-forward to the end and couldn't try again. From what I did play, it was an alright game. My biggest compliment is I did find the ending rather funny, so I can actually give humor a rating for once.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:58am

That little drill is really cute! :D "Cool" game!

justinmchase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:03am

Decent, I couldn't figure out how to not blow up, even by going very slowly though.

TheGameFather says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:17am

Solid drilling :)
However, more variety could be added to make it more challenging I guess :)

LazyParia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Yep shows a great potentials, graphics are cool :)

Christophe says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Would be better with more variations and some upgrades for the driller. Nice work.

mimiga says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:01am

its an alright start, could be cool if there was more time to work on it but its just nothing right now. also ive seen the exact same game on some flash game sites and probably in this LD

Exergy says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:01am

Good work.

Raiyumi says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:02am

Haha, the ending. (I cheated) It seems like an ok game, although it was pretty repetitive.

May 4, 2014 @ 4:38pm

It could work as a straight down digger, like a Canabalt where you manage your heat instead. The tiles should be randomly chosen, but weighted by depth. That would force you to pay attention to your heat management more.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]