Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Convoy Attack!!

by Chompson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a submarine game! At least part of it happens beneath the surface of water.

You're the captain of U-XXX. You have received a report - there's quite a few ships moving through your sector. You are to sink them all! Be careful, as it is probably not just small merchants going through.

I have wanted to make a submarine game for quite some time now, so it has been a fun project for me. Hope you enjoy playing the game as much as I enjoyed making it ;)

btw, something I forgot to write in the menu - you can toggle the orders and the map menu by clicking on it

ALSO FORGOT TO MENTION: use your mouse scrollwheel to zoom the camera in or out

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#354Graphics3.47
#412Overall3.32
#450Fun3.13
#465Theme3.36
#519Innovation3.11
#697Mood2.85
#776Humor2.14
#792Audio2.28

Comments

Jaenis says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:56am

This was fun! Those destroyers are little overpowered though, there is no way to hide from them after they have seen you - other than destroying them :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Great water effect but agree the destroyers are a little too powerful

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Fun game. Controls are a bit strange, but the graphics and gameplay were well executed.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Definitely liked the use of the water, however the instructions weren't very clear and I kept getting destroyed before I had a chance to attack.

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Had a hard time to find some enemies on my first run, but it improved with extra runs. There's a lot of cooldown with torpedoes, but once you master it there's a chance to kill some enemies.
Water has some nice effects!
Destroyers are overpowered, yeah :)

Chompson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Well, the destroyers are there to pretty much hunt you down. Nobody said attacking with a submarine is an easy job ;)

Colthor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:55pm

I really liked this. Not sure if enemy ships wandering/being lured into mines is deliberate, but it is fun.

GresponApps says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Well implemented, nice idea, but I feel the gameplay is alittle bit weird.. too hard to manouver maybe..

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Ambitious submission, I really liked it!

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Really fun, but really hard.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Strange controls but graphics are really good!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:09am

Very fun and enjoyable game.

Galan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:09am

Really cool! I wish the controls were a bit more responsive (even if less realistic), and the pacing is a bit slow, although it you could draw out the dramatic tension a bit that last part could be a bonus. Overall one of the most fun games I've rated this Ludum Dare.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:11am

Fun little sub game. Definitely fits the theme, and has some cool graphics. The water effects and ship model are especially nice!

Sim00n says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:17pm

I like the graphics and the idea overall but the controls need some work. Good job!

csanyk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:15am

A very solid entry. You really did a good job of creating a realistic feeling to the performance of the sub.

MintArcade says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:05am

Very fun game. Controls are OK, but destroyers are tough... Really cool mechanics.

Rainpath says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:56pm

The water graphics are good, and the controls are interesting. It would be a lot of fun, but either the controls are inverted, or you programmed it backwards, which led to me running straight into ships while trying to get away from them. It also feels weird when the convoy ships are sitting ducks, and the destroyers are over-powered killing machines. You don't stand a chance if you take on more than two. Though with a little more time and testing, it would have been a great game.

TeamFlare says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:19pm

nice game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]