Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Iceberg

by Hermes - Jam Entry

You play a little auk who travel the world in an iceberg to join his girlfriend.

Use arrows, space, q, w.
Escape for quit in game.

Thanks for playing :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#165Humor(Jam)3.15
#172Innovation(Jam)3.44
#232Theme(Jam)3.44
#291Audio(Jam)3.23
#306Mood(Jam)3.19
#363Overall(Jam)3.22
#375Graphics(Jam)3.37
#469Fun(Jam)2.81
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

SIMON_SIMON says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:38am

Missing web link ;)

Hermes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:47am

Repair! :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54am

Great art and graphics!! Great Job! :D GameGrape Corporation: www.codingrevolution.blogspot.com

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:56am

This is charming and the music is nice. Good job!

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:10am

I don't get it - places where I'm supposed to mash keys don't do anything (or I don't mash enough), there's no feedback telling me if I'm doing it ok... I kinda don't know what to do.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:11am

Graphics are nice, but the game itself doesn't make much sense.

greysphere says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:11am

Nice game. I really enjoyed the music. Made me feel relaxed even though I was always busy keeping my iceberg cool!

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:17am

Rather pleasant and relaxing, until you realize: MELTING!!!!

atlantian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:19am

Didn't quite understand how everything worked

Atta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:20am

It seems like your inspiration was a first photo in Google Images on "Beneath the Surface" http://bit.ly/1kna3cq :D
Nice game!

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:33am

relaxing

Hermes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:38am

Yes there are no always real visible feedback of what you do.
When you pedal the iceberg move and makes waves.
When you sleep they are ZzZ.
When you fish, they are Fish.
When you refresh the thermometer go down.

In fact, if you just take care of melting and percussing iceberg you can't loose.

Hermes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:39am

I dont check google for "Beneath the Surface" in fact ^^
Interresent fact :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:36am

Really interesting, good graphics, really nice music, but somehow reminds me of an Art game by M. Chaillet :D

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Very soothing atmosphere, but a little confused about what I was doing.

wschorn says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:11am

very relaxing, but i always worry i'm going into some state of error :/ breaks my flow kinda.

overall a very deep iceberg game! (search 'iceberg hero' to find my game, quite different :P)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]