Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Herbert Crawler

by Ronin748 - Jam Entry

Archaeologist doctor Herbert falls through the collapsing ceiling of an underground dungeon to discover the ancient remnants of some long-lost civilization. What will he find beneath the surface as he descends deeper?

So this is my first Ludum Dare entry and there was just not enough time for me to finish the game. There's only one level but I got most of the mechanics done. I could maybe do a post LD thing at some point and add more levels. The game is coded in C++ with SDL.

Controls:
WASD to move
Arrows to attack with item in hotbar
E use item in hotbar
Q inventory, drag to move to hotbar, right click to equip armour
Lshift sprint
Esc pause

Tools used: Visual Studio 2012, Photoshop CC, Sublime Text 2, sfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#251Graphics(Jam)3.68
#414Humor(Jam)2.45
#426Mood(Jam)2.98
#431Overall(Jam)3.12
#440Theme(Jam)3.03
#461Fun(Jam)2.82
#597Audio(Jam)2.28
#615Innovation(Jam)2.46

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:22pm

The visuals look beautiful, really enjoy playing your little game! I ended up playing for a while!

Robert says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Dosent Start for me because of MSVCP110D.dll

eerongal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Same error message as Robert, MSVCP110D.dll missing.

jellyfishlion says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:45pm

I downloaded the zip file and extracted it onto my desktop then tried to run the application, but I got the same error as Robert (missing dll file). It looks like a cool game though! :)

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:46pm

It dors not work with me...

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:46pm

I like the visual style, although it did appear a little dark on my monitor. The controls took some getting used to. The game exited on me when I got killed though, not sure if that's a feature or a bug.

MidCry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:00am

really good looking game ... Congratulations

Griz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:14am

In the first playthrough for some reason I got randomly teleported outside of the map bounds. Luckily that hasn't stopped me from trying the game for the second time. The mood and the gameplay is nice, while I don't like the small contrast in the background tiles, as it makes them look blunt.

Ron74_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:58am

Some of these bugs are features that were left in by accident. The ladders going down were supposed to take you to the next level but there are no other maps. I will look into the dll problems later today but it seems like a Visual Studio thing.

Ron74_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:22am

Mended some bugs

Ron74_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:30am

I included the dll. Is anyone still getting the errors?

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:48am

I get "The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b). Click OK to close the application."

Ron74_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:02am

I downloaded the wrong version of the dll. It should work now.

stephan_h says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:31am

Lovely game.
Liked the mood of this and the presentation.
Some ambient music would have been great. I am not so sure if the sounds matched the presentation.

Great first entry. And even impressive, considering you used C++.

Candyhandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:32am

I love the graphics.

Mstrp2ez says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:34am

Cool game, but only one level? After i got the equipment there was nothing else to do. Graphics were nice, sweet animations.

coquinounet says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:38am

Can't play, same error as other

Stepperz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:41am

Awesome Graphics. I Enjoyed playing :)

Ron74_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:49pm

I got access to a computer without Visual Studio installed and was able to test the game. Turns out there was another dll I had to include.

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Really liked the graphics!

TeamAlpha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Great graphics and the sound effects really fit the style! The attack controls felt a little bit clunky at first, though, and background music would improve the immersion a lot. I don't know if you plan to continue developing the game after LD, but maybe use the coins and diamonds as currencies for gear and perks? Just a suggestion. =D Would love to play more levels!

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Graphics are really good. Nice work.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:24pm

It's a nice start but it seems a little unfinished. As far as I could tell there's nothing to do once you kill one skeleton, open one door, and get some treasure.

skymen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Good visuals and sound effects, but with some musics and tutorials, it would be better

Khaldrin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Even though you did not finish the game, I think it is a very solid first contribution. The movements are fluid and the controls are responsive. The graphics are nicely done, too. Keep up the good work :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:11pm

I like the graphics style. A bit hard to know what to do, and keep motivation up. Some goal.

TheGreenTie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Took me a while to figure out how to open the door.

CaiusTSM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Graphics are great, but could use some music ;)

Moosefly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Not much of a game in this state, but the framework seems to be there. The graphics are really nice, but the game is really too dark like Jason Lay mentioned. The dark does compliment your lighting though :P.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

terraco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:47am

Looks really cool.

Ron74_ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Damage sound was played when you die instead of damage. That's now mended.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:04pm

God, that pixel art is great :)

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:19am

Not sure about why the mouse must be used to select an item to use. Nice little game.

May 5, 2014 @ 9:23am

Nice art! Attacks definitely need some animation and feedback and controls are just unintuitive. You should get rid of the mouse interactions.

Agecaf says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:33am

A little bit short, but what was made was well made. I liked the graphics, and the movements are smooth, but the inventory system was a bit unclear.

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:23am

It has potential, but needs a lot of polish. Better animations, and better controls, for sure. I wasn't clear how to do things even after reading the instructions a few times.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:55pm

The guy sort of looks like the eleventh Doctor. Coincidence?

Robinerd says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:04pm

I'll drop this comment here as well to make sure you see it:

Nice work, the art looks great! Next time I would suggest you to use one or several finished frameworks/engines to speed-up the process. You would want to spend very little time on the engine code and just get the core gameplay up as fast as possible, preferrably something playable already on the first day if possible. Then you can add more content and mechanics as well as polishing everything. Sounds simple enough, but it takes a lot of practice, and it’s very easy to get stuck for too long on some details.

I hope you had fun and learnt a lot even though you couldn’t finish it all, just try again next time and most of all, have fun! Greetings from Sweden and good luck next time!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]