Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Underground Fortune

by Root - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Underground Fortune is my game for the theme "Beneath the surface" made in 48 hours in this competition.

It is a 3D First Person Shooter/Adventure game.

Controls are simple:
You can either use W,A,S,D or Arrows.
Everything else is in the game.

Game is made in the Game Maker: Studio engine which uses GML as a programming language.

Anyway, I hope you'll enjoy the game and please leave your opinion here in coment section.
Well, it was a journey. I will definitely participate in the next one as well.

If you want to see the time lapse video, you can see it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HU8SiNO2jpM

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#221Mood3.46
#332Graphics3.52
#381Overall3.35
#408Fun3.19
#424Audio2.96
#473Theme3.35
#887Innovation2.62

Comments

Jiml says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:32pm

I was afraid that this would be to easy or hard but the difficulty spike was just right

bensimms says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Bummer, really wanted to play this but I'm Mac :( Looks good though mate, just from the screenshots you got my attention!

trvr says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Was fairly interesting to play an fps without a mouse. Not too bad for 48 hours.

conno1234 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Interesting idea. Nice job on the 3D in 48 hours.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:28am

Great work on the 3d in 48 hours. It reminds me of the original Doom or Wolfenstein.

Spit Tex says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:53pm

I loved this return to a older style of fps based more on exploration and the slower pace of the game added to the game. Overall a really fun title, have seen a lot worse on retail.

r2d2upgrade says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Unfortunately, only the floor and ceiling showed on my screen. And they were made up if weird textures. This happens a lot to me with 3D games made with Gamemaker :(

I really wanted to play!

Windows 8

marccspro says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Cool game :D I see we had the same 3D idea :p Good job !

pansapiens says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:40am

Yay for lofi FPSes ! Love the vegetation .. it just feels right. Features I'd like: fullscreen option and strafe key bindings.

May 3, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Helps to have a map.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Not bad! Mekes me some sort of nostalgia...
Eeeehhhh...

rojo says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:49am

Great old school feel. Pretty good base for a game for 48 hours.

Root says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 7:47am

Thanks everyone! I really appreciate all the good feedback from you guys!

And @r2d2upgrade yes, there are some problems when running GM games on Win8s, pretty hard to fix though.

Maxom says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Really liked the mood and the gameplay was also very nice. Oldschool-shooter feeling, very enjoyable!

May 18, 2014 @ 6:37pm

I love the retro shooter feeling I get from this :)
This is a really great game! Congrats!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Would be nice to get a little more feedback when you get hit, and the bats seem to go through you when you're fighting them. Otherwise, a cool game!

foolmoron says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Doom style controls are very fluid... fun to just run around

kikaz says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Nice graphics and music, well balanced, nice experience ! thx, I really enjoyed it !

danialhyatt says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:12pm

well put together game! I really enjoyed it. The walking was a bit nauseating. It would be nice if he returned to some kind of normal height when not moving, instead of stopping somewhere along the swing. I especially liked the environmental details and the sound, difficulty was spot on. Good job! PS there were some spelling/grammar mistakes. BUT SERIOUSLY I LOVED IT

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]