Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Giant Pumpkin

by EpaceGames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Grow the heaviest pumpkin possible for the county fair! Grow roots beneath the surface; avoid rocks and collect natural resources. Will your pumpkin get the blue ribbon?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Graphics4.46
#52Theme3.97
#56Overall3.92
#68Innovation4.00
#123Mood3.70
#143Fun3.61
#237Audio3.30
#320Humor2.83
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:33am

Fantastic

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:34am

Good art - I loved that you were able to make a resource management game in such an unconventional way!

SFBTom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:36am

Great style, a little confusing with the controls though, since if you hold down the mouse button it'll just autoclick anything underneath.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:37am

DAMN, this game is fun! And addicting... The graphics are awesome too! The right balance between complexity and simplicity! I love it!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:41am

A five ton pumpkin is pretty absurd, and I could probably do a lot better now that I know how it all works. The art is really pro.

ruerob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:51am

I love this one. This made my day. ^^ Very good one.

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:52am

Truthfully not my kind of game but I can see the game there for people who enjoy these things! Great art style / polish. Found the fact that your leaves would randomly face downwards to be a little annoying, not sure if there's something I was missing there.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:01am

Whoa! A two-and-a-half ton pumpkin, and that was only my first try. Nice graphics, great use of the theme, unique concept.

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:16am

Wow, one of the first games I genuinely had fun with! Great job and an awesome take on the theme.

JoeProgram says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:19am

Very cool. The whole game looks great, and the novel content is awesome. Reminds me of "Reach for the Sun." I got hit by the energy negative feedback loop - the weeds and bugs had blocked enough of my leaves that it was hard to get enough energy to pay for the pesticides and weed killer. I also noticed that weed killer occasionally has a bug where it spends the resources but doesn't remove the weeds.

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:31am

I'm terrible at these types of games, but I had some fun with this :). Interesting idea. Very nice graphics and animation too!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Very cool art and gameplay, congrats!

phi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:08pm

The weed cutter didn't work, so all my leaves got covered in darkness. :(
Really nice game though! I especially like the resource balancing, great job on that. Very up-lifting graphics and sounds as well.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:11pm

This is lovely. Nice work!

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Clever take on the theme, and gorgeous art. Very nice job, it was fun to play and watch that pumpkin grow, even though I felt so many different ressources were unnecessary

Kimau says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Really ace game! Fun creative premise

tanner101010 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Love the art! A little more instruction would be nice. Took a little bit to figure out what everything does. Played 5 games so far, still haven't able to grow the pumpkin around the rock :( Really enjoyed it!

renatopp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:57pm

I spent so much time in this game! The best so far, very polish (a bit unbalanced, but nothing critical). Love it.

DarkEngineer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Great idea!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:49am

Played it til I won. Great game! I really like the art.

May 1, 2014 @ 6:00am

aww lovely style. I adore illustrations of the ground in section, and you're using it very well. Also, I love the five ton pumpkins! Kudos!

May 2, 2014 @ 1:27am

I'm a terrible, terrible farmer :(
Would be a good mobile game!

VictoryGarden says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:18pm

This game is difficult for me to score well, since there's a lot of different aspects to it to consider. Simply as a game, the difficulty of recovering from certain feedback loops--like if none of your leaves function and you have no store of sunlight to grow more--is frustrating, particularly because the player can tell that they've finished playing, with no ability to "retire" the game at that point. At the same time, as an educational tool, this is really neat. The graphics are glossy and clean, and all of the SFX are textbook.

The other thing is that, looking at the point of view, the player is simultaneously portraying farmer and pumpkin. I think I would have preferred a pumpkin trying to get large for different reasons--to become the pumpking?--and purchasing various evolutionary effects to aid its own advancement would be more interesting. For example, plants evolved caffeine content as a natural insecticide, so you could do something like that. This would also differentiate your game a little bit thematically--I don't mean relative to the LD theme, just in general.

A couple of bugs, too, with the weed killer not functioning, and I've never been able to buy resources like water or nitrogen and have them actually show up in my stores.

Finally, the past few times I've played, I didn't actually notice the buttons in the top right corner allowed you to scroll up and down. I just saw your twitter key and my eyes glazed over, thinking it was yet another one of those "share on social media!!" button panels. Doing something to set these keys apart visually would help a lot with that.

Still, this is a very polished, well-constructed game! Thank you.

TeamFlare says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:01am

very nice style and idea! great game

mechabit says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Made a 71 tonne pumpkin lol How did they manage to get a badge on it? Well done on the top ranking.

jerombd says ...
May 27, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Great graphics, but the "weed killer bug" is awful :(

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]