Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

beneath codepage437

by anthonyl - Jam Entry

Subterranean duel stick shooter thing, rendered in using ANSI CodePage 437

GIF of gameplay - http://imgur.com/BrLD8Hn

perlin noise generated destructible world.
text particle based effects
funny ai

didn't get as far as I was intending but it can be pretty fun what's missing upgrades/boosts, larger enemies, various ammunition types

Linux build is up now.
Windows and OS-X sometime tomorrow.


Controls:

Up - thrust
Left and Right - change direction
Space - shoot
Left shift - hold to turn faster

Enjoy!


Note: putting the source on github soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2054Coolness17%

Comments

Ravetcofx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:08am

Only a linux version? Good on you :)
Would it be possble to open source this, I think this game would have a happy home in debian/ubuntu repos.
I love how clunky this game feels, its very retro :)

Sergraz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:21pm

I was looking forward for this game after seen screenshots in LD blog on a few occasions. Really like the atmosphere here. Would be great to have full version of this game with some goals, multiplayer, etc.

javierecf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:26am

The program can´t start because MSVCR120.dll is missing, here on Windows 7 64b.

runvs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Same error here. Could it be that you build in Debug mode?

anthonyl says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Nope, it's build in release mode sadly you need to the visual c++ 2013 runtime

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784

anthonyl says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:27pm

I'll see if i can rebuild and statically link them once i get home from work

Huder says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Are you sure u made fast turning correctly? Because it was not working for me sometimes. This game lacks of strafing this is 'must be' in this type of game. I like AI and use of perlin.
See my game its top-down shooter with random generated level too :)

anthonyl says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Huder>

yup i totally agree on the strafing .. I managed to get a mouse/keyboard scheme going in this right after the jam deadline and couldn't submit it .. a duel stick controller would totally be best .. maybe next time!!! :)

also you game looks cool i'm going to try it out

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:01am

Great idea!!!

May 4, 2014 @ 11:52am

Pretty fun. Multiplayer might add more fun to this game! :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]