Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cognitive Dissonance

by larouxn - Jam Entry

Cognitive Dissonance by Squirrel Island

Read through an enrapturing story and battle your dark half in Cognitive Dissonance!

We recommend Chrome, Opera, Safari or IE11+.
Firefox does not work due to quick search feature in the browser.

Credits
Nicholas La Roux - Programming
Robert Whitaker - Music, Story, Assistant Programming
Christina Ramos - Art

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#14Innovation(Jam)4.10
#78Mood(Jam)3.85
#109Theme(Jam)3.70
#141Audio(Jam)3.60
#154Overall(Jam)3.55
#361Fun(Jam)3.00
#365Graphics(Jam)3.40
#1930Coolness26%

Comments

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:38am

It's an interesting idea. If the game had been more responsive to things like left shift, it would flow a lot better. It's really innovative!

larouxn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Thanks @CupcakeMedia, that means a lot to us!

We are aware of the shift issue. Since we're still allowed to submit bug fixes still, we're going to try to fix that today.

larouxn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:53pm

@CupcakeMedia, just fixed all typing issues including shift. Bug fixed, woo!

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:19pm

I really liked the concept, too bad I suck at typing fast! Music and art were really good :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Typing of the Not-Quite-Dead-Yet!

The punctuation really makes it hard, though; I always fumble a bit to get the key combinations quickly, but that other guy's not even fazed by it. Damn him.

Overall fun game. Graphically it's only a few static screens, but they look great. Music definitely gets the blood pumping. Good job!

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Cool! Control +F kept popping up. Was that intentional to increase the challenge?

BadPaul34 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Great concept fits to the Jam. I'm not a big fan of the music, it is to cheap for my tastes, but I really love how you made it to fit the theme. We were in the same mood about this theme. I believe that it is a bit to hardcore for me, but the gameplay is really fun !. Well done !

x1212 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Wow, that evil-side is really good at typing ... or I'm really bad ...
Nice concept!

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:45pm

The concept is really neat, but a mixture of even the first set of typing sets going at a decent clip, and punctuation being unresponsive (for some reason, using an apostrophe de-prioritised the game for me, making some sets impossible) made it frustrating to play.

Even if it would have broken 'character' for the game, having both a warning countdown that a typing set is going to start, and having things like capitalisation and punctuation auto-complete (with the game telling you this beforehand) would make things a lot more playable.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Wow, what a neat idea! A typing game with a story... I've never seen anything quite like it!

One thing you might want to check--I had a success in every dialogue, and yet my character says he "gave in" to his evil side. Otherwise, I think you could cut down on repetitive text or make the characterization a little bit more complex, and it'd make the game somewhat less tedious and more emotionally complicated... you've got a neat story, so you might as well run with it as far as you can.

Great music, neat visuals, excellent concept. Good job!

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Nice concept, good moral storyline, nice visualization! The only thing I would look at is better player feedback, the 'winning' line would be repeated and stay put until I hit a key/a little bit of time passes. I often would not read the other line, because I was frantically typing my own. And it was unclear at times if I was quick enough. But overall very good.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Great concept, great mood :) i think i broke my keyboard haha

Moosefly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Lovely game, even got me a bit teary-eyed. Would've loved a clear indicator of which of us won, something simple like changing the character sprites a bit to reflect that would've worked wonders.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

larouxn says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:04am

Thank you all for the kind yet constructive feedback! We here at Squirrel Island really appreciate it and really value your suggestions. We would loved to have implemented them.

As for bugs in the gameplay, please make sure you are not using Firefox. Firefox break our gameplay hands down.

soy_yuma says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Nice interpretation of the theme! I like the atmosphere. I used your game to demonstrate that I type faster than my girlfriend :-P

Atridas says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Nice interpretation on the theme. Really hard for me, as I lost almost everytime :-(, frustrating. Maybe a dificulty setting could have improved this.

Art and sound are superb. And good writing too.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]