Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Iceberg - Beneath the Surface

by jacobrb95 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*included is the executable jar file, a readme file, and source code(excluding sound files due to size constraints)...Sound can be found within archive file*

Controls:
Use Arrow keys or WASD to move
use -/= to zoom out/in (extremely useful)

Instructions:
You are on an iceberg which is quickly flooding with water. You must delve beneath the surface of the iceberg to avoid the water. Gather 100 wall tiles per level to proceed. Be warned, breaking the walls will allow more water to spill in.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#248Innovation3.52
#319Fun3.32
#447Overall3.29
#620Audio2.64
#719Mood2.81
#776Humor2.14
#867Theme2.87
#1131Graphics2.19

Comments

Zazibar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Interesting idea, gameplay is simple but fun. Good job!

elpaulo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:08pm

This can become a very very cool game ! Nice concept !

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Really like the gameplay - didn't see that I had to gather 100 wall tiles per level, so it took me a bit to figure out the door was close :D Fun little game

NikinCZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Nice! But why does character looks like a tortilla?

Biliogadafr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Great idea. Nice gameplay. But I should start from the very beginning if I die. Restart of the current level instead of restarting the whole game would be better.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Relatively simple idea, but REALLY well executed.

I just wish it saved at the start of each level! I got halfway through level 5 before being caught out, then was too disheartened to do the others again...

Up until that point, though, I had a lot of fun. :)

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:43pm

GRRRR level3! RAGE!!!

Wukkopi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Nice game, I really like the concept that you must collect wall tiles, that really keeps you safe from water.I think I got to sixth level or so, and then got surrounded by water, I thought that I get to try that level again, but instead I got thrown to first level :(

anton says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:09pm

check point would be really nice,
otherwise, this is a very good game :)

Zutty says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Doesn't work for me (Windows 7). The game just quits with no message when I click "Begin".

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Fun game, but starting completely over on death is a bit harsh of a penalty.

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Great sound track, great idea, good implementation. A level select would be neat too, because some levels I found fun.

jujule says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:38pm

A nice idea, really. It deserves better art, I think. Please keep working on it.

Lucariatias says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:52pm

A lot of fun to play - could do with some graphical juicing up but that's a lot more easy to fix than a broken gameplay mechanic. Restarting the level rather than the entire game might have been good, but it was fun regardless.

klianc09 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Really like the gameplay. The last level was the most interesting as the constant threat of the flooding creates a tension between collecting the walls and leaving them. While the levels where the water is sealed off and you can get the walls without any danger are rather boring.

Zooming out is absolutely mandatory, as I wouldn't have had any idea where to go in the last level otherwise.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]