Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Botch Bundle

by Marcus_siactro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

IMPORTANT: If you want to manipulate anything you need to click on the object first and then on the arrows in the upper left corner inside the black box.

Press M to mute Music.

This a collection of four minigame stages with different gameplay styles and goals. You need to change some gameobject attributes to reach your goal.

Font by tepidmonkey.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#50Innovation4.06
#210Audio3.36
#214Overall3.57
#225Humor3.05
#263Graphics3.65
#292Fun3.37
#374Mood3.19
#649Theme3.16

Comments

allurious says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:09am

This game reminds me (in a great way) of DoubleFine's Hack 'n Slash. I love games that break the fourth wall and let you look under the hood, and this LD entry was executed really well!

Jase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:27am

Once I worked out what was going on I really enjoyed this. It felt like I was "hacking" a game to win which was kinda awesome. The last room was tricky, but I got it in the end :)

Very well done.

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Really cool... very meta. The little mini-game style with the great pixel art is spot on!

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Cool idea! I got stuck in the last minigame; what is "worth"?

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Great interpretation of the theme. I thought the last puzzle was the best. :)

erdos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Graphics and music are very cool, collision detection is a bit funky on the first level, interesting couple of little game

Jojo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Nice game! I felt it was a little short, might have been a better idea to make more levels with the same mechanic than a new one in each level. At the other hand, varying it up kept the experience fresh. The last level was tricky, I was almost giving up when I saw it. I liked it.

geekdrums says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:36pm

I felt like I'm trying to make this game boring and boring, but chatting with my friends about this game was really fun.

SethR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Very nice, never played anything quite like it. I have to admit, I don't know how I passed the last level though, I was just moving things around and it completed?!

shane1090 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Really nice concept being able to alter objects stats to progress. Nice art style and audio to go with it too!

adcrusher says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Wow that was a really cool game with some interesting concepts! The zelda puzzle was especially tricky, it took me a while to figure that one out.

colludium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Cool game with nice retro graphics

Tipyx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Mmmmh, the game suffer of a lack of explanation a think, we haven't a lot of possibility. He could be pleasant to have various factor to finish a level :). The sounds and the graphs are very cool on the other side :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Wow! Thank you all for the many comments! Really appreciate it! :)
@Danman9914: "Worth" is me trying to make a joke in english at around 2am on a saturday morning. So: It is pure nonsense.
@Jojo: You are absolutely right! However to tell you the truth: I only managed to come up with this four ideas...it was a rough weekend ;)
@Tipyx: It really does, yeah. I should have made it a lot clearer how to manipualte objects.

Kep says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:17pm

A bold plan for a 48 hour jam.
Similar to Hack 'n Slash from Double Fine. http://www.hacknslashthegame.com/

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Yes indeed. There may even be the possibility that I based my idea on that game, somewhere inside my brain, since I bought it back when the prototype was part of the amnesia fortnight bundle :)

Turnipnose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:19pm

I needed some time to figure out how to do the "hacking as I wasn't trying the mouse, but after I figured it out it was quite fun to mess with the values, also you put a lot of genres there for such a short development time.

BobMorate says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:08am

This was a very clever game. In the beginning I was a bit confused about what to do, but it actually was really a blast to play. The puzzles are very well designed, and I'm a total nutter for Pixel graphics, so overall a really nice experience. Well done!

Jhelle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:58am

Fun concept. Wouldn't mind playing a full game like this with more stuff to change and more content. Good job :)

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Nice gameplay, I thought the last level was broken - but then I solved it. Very clever

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Loved the game and the really clever concept

Satyre says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Nice, at first I didn't know what to do, but I like the exploration more instead of getting too much help. The manipulation is great. I hope to see the project full fledged out in the future as a sequel. The music and the graphics have a great retro style. Good work.

AmmoreChicks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Great interpretation of the jam theme!

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Superb variation! Nice retro graphics and sound.

KeyMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Who didn't use the aliens game to make himself an insane firerate? Hacking games is fun :D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Well I surely did;)
Thank you all very much for the kind words :)

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Awesome, took me a bit to figure out the last mini game XD

thaaks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Nice little game. Controlling was a bit complicated (first level) but then I got it. Didn't solve the switch puzzle yet.

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Very good. There is not enough of these games where you can directly control things' stats and see under the hood. Nice music and graphics. A very solid entry indeed.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:59pm

That last one was really clever ;) controls were a bit unfriendly, but this could potentially become something really cool.

danidre14 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:29am

Love how you used all those different mechanics. Finished all 4 levels, although I took a while to realize I can move the lock itself.

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:37am

Nice ideas and funny setting.

savethejets1 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:24am

Really neat idea!

I'm not sure if it was just me but the mouse didn't line up with my system mouse and sometimes it would click outside the screen. It only messed me up on one of the games though.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:03am

Thanks :)
@savethejets1: Well that is something I should check...As far as I wrote the scripts, it should line up with the system mouse...but it may very well be that I messed it up since I worked on that cursor script in the last few hours

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:48am

Nice games. Like the idea to manipulated the world before and/or during the game to make it possible to reach the goal. Did had the worth option any value in the last one?
Good job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:39am

Thank you. No, the worth, lvl and atk values only existed to confuse the player a bit. It was the last of only five short stages so I wanted it to be the most difficult.

loxo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Great idea, nice graphics and audio! Sadly the game is very short, because the puzzles/levels are really easy to solve.

teambrookvale says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:53am

Nice retro graphics! Took me a while to figure out:) Fun game. Love it

ArthurMaker says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:18am

Awesome!

snooze82 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:09am

yery neat concept! :)

Nanolotl says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:19am

Nice idea and well executed. No idea what "worth" in the last level meant, even though it wasn't needed to beat it anyway

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:16am

Super innovative and looks great too, just to build the engine to make each of these things look alright is a feat, and to do it in 48H and to have such a clever twist? Really great job.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]