Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Duck

by Jakub Koziol - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a duck.
You can say whatever is on your mind.
This duck listens.
You can share your sadness.
You can share your joy.
This is a duck and this duck cares.


I had an idea then I stripped it from all systems and all that's left is a duck and the player.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#5Humor4.35
#199Audio3.40
#221Overall3.56
#224Fun3.46
#225Mood3.45
#272Innovation3.48
#859Graphics2.68
#1167Theme2.16
#1773Coolness36%

Comments

jpdev says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 9:03pm

I really hope you record everything that is typed into that box and send it to your server. Pretty sure that log file will be hilarious :)

Apr 26, 2014 @ 10:04pm

This game has touched me on a deep emotional level.

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 12:09am

This is probably my favorite so far

lorniebear says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Aww! So cute! One of my friends would love this!

Skywilly says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Ahah, so cool :P

maffydub says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Nice! I like what happens if you type "Quack".

pattb011 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Amazing. I literally had a full conversation!

vinull says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Quack

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:49pm

A serious game of the year candidate! I love it immensely.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:39pm

We have a winner.

conno1234 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:02am

This game was riveting and changed my views on AI forever and ever

Norse Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:35am

SkyNet has taken the form of a duck. Do not trust him! His so called "quacks" are actually nuclear launch codes.

EnigmAraigne says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:57am

Awesome game dude! Really like the idea :D Quack for the win :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Hahaha! i tried everything and.... XD! i did not spected that.

Foofur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Hehehehe.

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:36pm

i tried moooooo :)

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:38pm

...well I'm not sure what I was expecting!

I like the sounds :)

Sodaware says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:42pm

This made me smile.

I'd be interested to see what you had originally planned though.

LewisW says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:28pm

I've said terrible things to this duck.

lorniebear says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Quack!

Spit Tex says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Game of the year so far, love it.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:45pm

This is all the therapy I'll ever need.

dejant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Hahaha, nice

jomacel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:12pm

I cried when it said "QUACK! QUACK QUACK QUACK". Thats 4 quacks!

maffydub says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Well it's definitely innovative, and surprisingly fun! Slightly off-theme, though! ;)

csanyk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:31am

the first comment from jpdev pretty much nails it.

petrih says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:56am

Hehe, nice concept!

King_Mew says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 12:32am

Funny and cute :P

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]