Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the surface of Life

by ab200 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Game is some kind of metroidvania if man can make metroidvania in 48 hours.

Main protagonist is killed man. Love of his sister was so strong that he hasn't die completely. He went astray to some sort of hell, deep beneath the surface of earth. There, he have to defeat death himself to retrieve his life.

Sorry for lame boss fight and starting screen, but I haven't enough time to fix it.

Controls:
z - jump
x - use item
c - change item

I's my first real LD. Before it i have taken part in Sharkjam (MiniLD#46), but it was mini in fact. This game is much better.

Have fun.

-=EDIT=-

I added Windows version in which you can change controls if you don't like standard.

-=EDIT=-

Thanks for feedback. I just have fixed jumping - now you can't jump so high, but you should see platform on which you want to jump. I also added animation of taking hit according to your advice, and put on map several bottles with life potion more.

Added alternative controls if you hate standard:
space - use item
right alt - jump
right shift - change item

Link to new post-compo version: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/232505117/BtsoL%20post-LD/BtsoL%20post-LD.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#892Graphics2.63
#915Mood2.59
#942Humor1.88
#949Theme2.72
#999Audio1.65
#1070Fun2.37
#1146Overall2.49
#1178Innovation2.07

Comments

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:50am

Good job. Back in the day that wall grab/climb thing would have been advanced stuff...

The jump seemed a little overpowered.

Nice feel to the controls apart from that and a good bit of slashing fun.

RikardKarlsen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:58am

For me the controls was a little confusing. I always forgot which of the three I needed to press to to things. I t'd be easies if jump was UP or SPACE or something.

Other than that a nice game idea!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Good but the conrols were pretty bad.

Tuism says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:45pm

An interesting collection of ideas, I think overall the game is just a bit unbalanced - the jump is powerful but I can't see where I'm going, the attacks don't feel meaty enough, lack of feedback on getting hit/hitting... But I really like the health system, the climbing... Yeah there's a lot of systems in there, they just aren't fine tuned enough.

Oh the key mapping is tough to play with. I've never understood how games are mapped there so popularly XD

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:14pm

TIL we don't wear pants on hell :) GJ

mutuware says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Kinda crazy!

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:17pm

The health system is great!

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Lots of nice ideas in this game. The jumping is a bit poorly planned a few landing on platforms you can't see is fine but here it is pretty much every jump. With the kind of combat system that seems to be intended things deal damage too fast.

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:23pm

To much leap of faith and a bit to fast to feel that you are in control of whats happening. But nice first LD-game!

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Overall looks great but I wish there would be some sounds as well as controls that make a bit more since (For example change z to space) because its best to keep the controls most games use. Still love the game!

Liens says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Loved the Doom style health meter.

SFBTom says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Controls were hard, but I love that wall jump/slide, and there's a good amount of stuff to see here!

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Nice game for a first entry! - I found myself jumping and climbing around, more than fighting. The controls (keybindings - webplayer) was weird to say the least. Since you can climb, I don't see why the jump power have to be so crazy :P - The graphics were nice :-)

rylgh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:53pm

good job! nice feeling attacks and platforming, cool minimal HUD system

May 1, 2014 @ 10:36am

Some nice ideas, feels like Prince of Persia meets Wolverine.
IT's quite hard but the wall jump mechanic is enough fun to keep you busy!
Nice first entry!

May 4, 2014 @ 11:48am

Nice mechanics. But I'm not sure what to do. Some direction or arrow like pointer to show the objective might helps. :)

xdegtyarev says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Hehe, funny :)

alvivar says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Nice first Ludum Dare! I like the mood of the game.

Things to improve:

+ More tuning/polish on controls and collisions
+ Sound Fx (https://freesound.org)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]