Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Into the Milk

by xbcw - Jam Entry

Here's my first ever completed game for my first ever Ludum Dare.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#43Humor(Jam)3.80
#313Fun(Jam)3.09
#468Theme(Jam)2.97
#491Mood(Jam)2.85
#543Overall(Jam)2.91
#561Audio(Jam)2.48
#634Graphics(Jam)2.63
#664Innovation(Jam)2.32

Comments

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:12am

hahhaa what a fun concept! beat it, and enjoyed it! pretty little gameplay-wise, but still fun! nice job :3

Nition says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:25am

Pretty cool. Hard to get slow into the little gap in World 4, but not a big deal.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:43am

Haha, this is amazing.

Couldn't beat level 4, but found the game quite humorous and enjoyable!

RowdyGhosts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:46am

Haha love the cookies and milk idea. Makes me want some cookies and milk.

mclewis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:48am

Good idea and was fun for a bit. I'm not sure if level 4 is beatable though as I could not fit into the gap.

yo_milo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:49am

Really nice concept, I loved the game, but I ragequit at level 10... due to how hard it is to fit inside small gaps, and how crowded with enemies, that randomly spawn there, that area is.

I love how it looks like the main char could not fit the spaceship, and his feet are outside... I know, that is the spoiler, but it looks like feet to me, and I like it that way.

There are a few design problem, both with hard to pass through gaps, and the invisible wall... Other than that, it is a solid game...

xbcw says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:51am

The troublesome section in Level 4 and Level 9 should be fixed now. Thanks for the feedback!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Can't say I have seen this setting before. ;) Pretty basic gameplay. I liked that you added humor though.

zillix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:47am

great work for your first game! I played it all the way through. that was a pretty surreal experience :)

kevinAlbs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:49am

Good concept!

hyouko says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:56am

Cats? W-why are there cats in my milk?

Overall, pretty fun. Work on the collision detection a bit, and maybe add a bit of logic to the enemy spawning so that it doesn't do truly unfair things like insta-killing you.

(...holy crap, you can shoot? I made it to level 10 without firing a shot!)

Contacaton says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:57am

It's fairly annoying when they spawn right on you, killing you instantly.

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:04am

That was delightful

dmcfarline says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:57pm

A little basic, but definitely a unique game! pretty funny concept!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]