Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mount!

by Namide - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Move: arrow keys
Jump: spacebar
Objective: don't fall into the lava

Language: Haxe
Author: Namide
Sources: GitHub

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#515Audio2.84
#634Innovation2.95
#801Mood2.71
#879Graphics2.65
#884Overall2.85
#916Fun2.60
#1234Theme1.84
#1877Coolness30%

Comments

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:44pm

cool new concept. could spawn a sub-genre

Jaenis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Quite nice!
Would be great if you could jump again when you are "hugging" a bigger cube, kinda meat-boy-ish way, this would allow better survival.

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:25pm

I like games that play little notes of music when the user do something instead of playing a "real" sound. nice game

sandbaydev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:01pm

I suck at jumping off from a cube... I too would like at least one extra jump when mounted on a thing.

Concept was cool & well executed. Good job.

pht59x says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Very good sound-based concept with great potential.

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Nice new take on the jumping game theme :-)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:41pm

What Jaenis said. It was a bit hard for me to avoid or jump the bigger cubes. It's an interesting concept though, good job!

CMaster says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:40am

I was just able to move off the right of the screen and avoid everything that way. Could do with more interesting shapes I think, but is engaging enough already (and guitar string sounds were nice)

Kara Jayde says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:07am

I liked the SFX and how it related to size, but overall I felt the game lacked something mechanically.

frogcheese says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 5:40pm

The cubes got almost impossible to avoid when the terrain got too level, but other than that it's a cool little avoidance game. I did notice later on that you could just blast off the right side of the screen, past the block spawner and stay safe for as long as you wanted... but that's not really all that fun!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]