Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Surface

by trvr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here it is, my first Ludum Dare entry!
It has been a long weekend, and I got a lot done. Granted I probably could have spent more time on a creative title, and I am in no way a musician, but here it is. If I had more time, I would have added more levels and traps to flesh it out a bit more. I also hoped to add a little bit of a story, but I never got around to it. Maybe I'll finish it up in the future.
Let me know what you think.

Known Bugs:
Menu Screens are cut off when not at a 16:9 aspect ratio.
No music on closing screen.
**Will work on bugs for a post LD version. If you want to follow the progress, find me on twitter: http://goo.gl/fImK1Q

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#575Theme3.24
#780Fun2.76
#788Overall2.94
#963Graphics2.53
#1134Innovation2.19
#1959Coolness24%

Comments

Root says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Pretty fun game. It describes the theme pretty well and also I like the kind of 3D / 2D feel to it. Great game. Except that I died like 1000 times xP

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:07am

It was short but still fun to play due to the challenge. I'd make the map transitions smoother, they can be quite confusing.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:46am

Congrats on finishing your first LD! The transition between levels is a bit abrupt, and I managed to get the game to crash by going left from the start of the second area.

jujule says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:09pm

The Mac version doesn't work for me. It just doesn't launch. I'll stick around and see if you update it. I really want to try it.

RowdyGhosts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Mac version is broken for me. I'm getting one of those "file is damaged" errors.

trvr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:02am

Fixed the Mac build, it should be working now. I also noticed that the main menu is cut off strangely when it is not at a 16:9 aspect ratio, but other than that it should be working. Let me know if it works for Mac, and Linux if anyone has the opportunity. Thanks!

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Nice use of 2.5D, but I found the game to be a bit buggy, I kept teleporting to random bits of the room and ended up falling off completely.

cheesepencil says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Challenging! I kept falling through the level on the part where the spike shoot upwards from the ground... I would fall into a lower part of the level and then get stuck behind a wall or fall off the level and fall forever

i liked it though

ChuiGum says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:35am

Love the graphics!

rojo says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Not bad. Some decent challenge. The music and sound effects were way, way too quiet. I couldn't hear them at all without headphones. Animation would help the overall experience. Also the character moved pretty fast, so dialing that back a bit would probably make the game feel better as well.

trvr says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 12:28am

Thanks for the suggestions. I will hopefully continue to work on this as a side project.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]