Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Superficial

by JordanFitz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Please read this before playing:

The idea for this game was to be "beneath the surface of the game." In the end, it shows some game code, which was my original plan. I didn't get to really work on it much past the basics of the game, so I just threw in the ending really soon so I could submit on time. So yeah, the game is very incomplete. WASD to move around.

This game uses HTML5 Canvas and Salmon.JS (My own incomplete game engine). The game uses these two fonts:
http://www.dafont.com/minecraftia.font
http://www.dafont.com/8bit-wonder.font

The source for the game can be found here: https://github.com/JordanFitz/ld29

The engine can be found here: https://github.com/JordanFitz/SalmonJS (WIP)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#101Mood3.74
#115Humor3.41
#408Theme3.43
#414Graphics3.38
#435Audio2.95
#455Innovation3.20
#1094Overall2.57
#1143Fun2.20
#1895Coolness28%

Comments

dbro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:53am

Awesome

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:52am

Liked the joke :D

Alucard J says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:59am

I start to wonder if ... there's a problem in the Matrix?

zebi24 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:54am

Now all I want is a pepsi. :(

sam101 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:11am

I wa

sam101 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:12am

s not expecting this !

Snild says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Great idea!

I wasn't sure if things were over when the code appeared. I tried to affect it by mashing some keys for a while, and was a bit disappointed that nothing happened...

Rabbits... says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:28am

deep, but still maintains some comedy, would have liked to have seen more

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:08pm

I like the music :)

PaperBlurt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:48am

Finish this!
It can be brilliant.

"I wish I had someone to consult" <--best line ever!

The style is real good and I got sucked into it straight away.

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:08pm

I pushed the screen.

Dawildogra says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:54pm

BEST MOOD EVER, jk :3, but great one though, I really liked it, too bad it's so short, please finish it, add one or two gameplay elements max, better textures (for the ground mainly, but others too), a simple but somewhat more complex story line and it can be a great game

Dawildogra says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:00pm

PS: you're best game it is

pikkpoiss says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:52am

Nice and moody, I guess I wish there had been some more of a game. From a technical point of view, the walking animation was pretty slick (hard to do that many frames in my experience) and the rain particle system was cool.

Thorig says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:45am

Funny joke!

Adrian says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Well, that was surprising...

Moosefly says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:03am

Not much right now, but it did manage to convey an interesting atmosphere.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Rzial says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Totally unexpected ending

dcolgan says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:33am

I love the atmosphere in this, and also the humor. I want to see where this was heading.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]