Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Overwhelmed

by OhFiddleDiddle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Overwhelmed is a game that resembles what it's like beneath the surface for someone who is suffering from bullying, depression or anxiety.

Made in Unity using C#.
Sounds were made using sfxr.
Art assets made using Gimp.

Also, if you play it through the web version (GameJolt) can you please rate it there as well? Thank you. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#166Mood3.56
#559Theme3.26
#660Innovation2.91
#717Overall3.00
#782Humor2.13
#892Audio2.03
#960Fun2.53
#1042Graphics2.41

Comments

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Wow, not too bad, what would be great is for a little bit more brighter colors.
But very nice.

vinull says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:51pm

I feel sad inside...

jrap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:55am

Congratulations on not only crafting a game in 48 hours, but crafting a quality one. Very few ludum dare entries tackle serious issues, and a few that do do so poorly. this is not the case with 'Overwhelmed'. When I play your game, it feels just like it felt in the weakest point of my life, when I too saw people as angry red shadows harboring angry thoughts about me, and the only support I got was being told not to be selfish.

Stellar Job.

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:55am

I feel like you captured it perfectly. Well done

ky533541 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:20am

I liked the idea (probably a lot of jammers can relate to that right now), and the visuals were really satisfying, but I found the audio to be really out of sync with the mood of the game. I know it's hard to come up with audio resources for a competition like this but this game really deserves something...softer, maybe? Less digital sounding? But overall nice game and really great look

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:21am

Cool game with an interesting message. The movement felt choppy. Maybe give the player inertia (so it doesn't immediately stop).

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:23am

This must be the view of a person, which run amok. x.X

Xangotrick66 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:26am

Very nice! Love the way you used the theme. Quite compelling!

Fasox says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:20am

Ha,ha,ha
You were right our games hace the same interpretation of the theme. Even some words are the same.
So strange :P

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46am

This is a lot more fun than being bullied or depressed :p

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:02am

Cool

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:46am

Thanks for all the comments so far guys, keep them coming. :D
jrap, Thank you especially. I have never felt better as a game developer then when I read your comment.
Also in regards to the audio sounding too "digital" which I agree with, my original intention was to make it cause the player to start feeling panicked, which only seems clear towards the end.
Anyway, again, thank you everyone for your feedback, please keep it coming, I love it. :)

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:29pm

This game bullied me.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Darn, it would have been nice to be able to fight your way out of there and feel the determination pay off. But I guess then it wouldn't be "Overwhelmed" huh. Anyways nice work felt like a good game and an unsettling mood game.

PixelMind says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Great use of the theme. Kind of sad too though.

Great job with delivering a message to the player!

b222ster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:41pm

No linux support :(

Zyper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Everyone hates me :(

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:18pm

b222ster, does the Linux download not work? :(

rubna says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:57pm

:(

tehryanx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:14pm

interesting take. Hit's close to home for the LD weekend :P

lonewookie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:13am

Wow, great game! Very good message.

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Relevant title. It's nice to see a common mechanic use for a not-so-common purpose.

I think that this game would be more touching with different sound effects. "beep" doesn't match the mood here, while a few music notes could.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Ah ah - man you know my constant sorrow.
Thank to play with me. Nice entry ++

RyotaRaven55 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:02am

Very quality game and very nice message. Great job

Charimation says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:12pm

A really poignant and moving little game o:

Kerdelos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:05pm

I felt overwhelmed and I think that's the best compliment I can make about this game. Nice !

GamerTaters says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:05am

Thoughtful game. Well done.

May 2, 2014 @ 2:54pm

At first I thought that the message of the game didn't come through, that being the feeling of anxiety/depression over bullying and what not. Once the game got going, I started feeling anxious as more of the "worries" spawned and then I really started feeling the tone of your game. Great work!

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Great message behind this game.

Snoother says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:41pm

I love the inevitability of it. Powerlessness is something that needs to be explored more -- losing as a worthwhile gameplay and narrative experience -- and your game does it well. And the simple mechanic displays something we've all doubtless felt; some, sadly, to a much greater and more fatal degree.

May 6, 2014 @ 4:44pm

I really like the use of theme and the feeling of being, well, overwhelmed. Definitely increases the tension over time. Have to agree with others about the audio -- felt like it took me a little out of the experience.

Moosefly says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 11:53am

Quite simple, and I wasn't really in the mood for something as serious as this (c'mon, it's sunny and warm outside, summer is just starting, this is no time to be feeling bad). Still stared at the ending screen for quite a while though.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]