Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Heavy Metal Detector

by ninjabit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An old rocker on a journey to reclaim his heavy metal from the beach.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#181Humor3.19
#424Audio2.96
#473Theme3.35
#660Innovation2.91
#973Mood2.50
#1029Fun2.43
#1136Overall2.50
#1182Graphics2.04
#1773Coolness36%

Comments

ccglp says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:46pm

The idea isn't bad, maybe more levels will be some more fun!

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:46am

The only work to describe this game is "duuuuuuuude. . . " :) Interesting game!

tidalkraken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Rock on

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:38am

This is so creative and the audio is great. I loved how you hit the theme so well. I wish the visual style was a little more cohesive, and as ccglp says, mmore levels please!

davidwparker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Need... more... Metal! Cool idea.

ninjabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Thank you dudes/dudettes! You guys have a good point on more levels. This was my first attempt at pixel art, and I enjoyed doing it in between the coding sprints. Hopefully my future work will have better pixel art.

Did you know that the "heavy metal" are just pixel-ized versions of famous heavy metal albums? !O!

dusho says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:28pm

that was fast..
interesting idea, also like the 3D clouds :)

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Needs some kind of time-pressure or hazards. Dem clouds, though XD

andymar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:29pm

I love how you can just walk into space. Nice one.

Sergraz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:33pm

\m/ \m/

Thingus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Impressed with the soundtrack :-) Not sure if this was intentional or not, but all the items appeared at the start of the first level.

ninjabit says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:30am

@Thingus yeah, I figured the first level could be a tutorial, then afterwards the player would get that the items are beneath the beach. Hopefully it made sense..

hanoth says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:29pm

This is really interesting and a great use of the theme.

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:29am

This is my kind of metal. Rock on!

BadPaul34 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:05am

Good idea and pixel art ;) Keep going this way, it can become a fun ecological game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]