Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Surface

by mrfriedfish - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Commments said:

"It is very hard"

"Extremely difficult"

But I say it will test your patience. Amongst the player's who tried it, someone has yet to beat the game. Are you up for it?

Controls: [W] [A] [D] - [Left] [Up] [Right] arrow keys

Game Title:(Beneath The Surface)

A world without a heart is a world without a name. Buried deep beneath the surface lies the heart of the world. Unstable grounds, unstable gravity, danger awaits those who try to take the heart from deep beneath the surface.

Edit: the game is hard but beatable . . .

- mrfriedfish -

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#634Innovation2.95
#669Audio2.55
#681Mood2.87
#818Fun2.73
#921Theme2.77
#925Graphics2.59
#980Overall2.73
#1798Coolness35%

Comments

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:35am

The concept intrigued me. But having to start from the beginning with every death, especially when sometimes you can't see death coming, was too unforgiving for my tastes. If there were checkpoints, I could see a reason for the ten-minute timer.

hanoth says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:21pm

I think with some polish and some checkpoints this could be a lot of fun.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:25pm

I think the concept is interesting but it is very hard because it is impossible to remember every traps !

timtipgames says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Extremely difficult ;)

Xaychru04 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Really hard, reminded me of IWBTG... Like the others said, checkpoints would have been appreciated too, but anyway, nice game, and congrats for your first LD! :p

CMaster says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:37am

Pretty decent graphics and sound for 48 hours of work.

Lack of checkpoints quickly made me give up though.

Tifu says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:57am

So the major problem here, and given the above comments I don't think I'm the only one to misunderstand this, is that it seemed at first like the gravity flipping was done by entering certain areas, like traps, this caused me to die many times without understanding what was really happening, you really need to explain to the player that the gravity is flipping on a timer, or it will (and did) just lead to incredible frustration. Once this was understood, I managed to beat it (I think? The game text said something about the 'heart of the world being deeper', so I dunno, if there's a deeper ending I didn't get it).
The timer is probably unnecessary, especially in a game where the player has to have patience to win.

Good job on finishing a game though, I'd just edit the information about the gravity timer into your description and people would have more fun with this.

May 4, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Really tough game. Pretty fun though.

May 6, 2014 @ 4:30pm

ohh, cryptic :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]